We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change from the B&B circuit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice change from the B&B circuit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here with two couples during our March tour of the South Island. Although our hike on the glacier was rained out, we were pleased to be staying in such comfortable and spacious surroundings. The self-contained units were also a fabulous change from all of the Bed and Breakfasts we had been staying in. We enjoyed the opportunity to prepare our own dinner and keep it simple with coffee and a light breakfast in the morning. We were also happy to raid Glenfern's DVD supply and have a relaxing night in. The Villas are a little removed from town, but it was nice to be in a quiet area, and it didn't take but a few minutes to find our way back in to Franz Josef village in the morning. I would certainly recommend for people to stay here, maybe even for a longer stretch. Clean, well maintained, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avermonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    177
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
307
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here (July 2013) with our adult son whilst attending a wedding at Fox Glacier. We did an extensive road trip of the South Island recently and this motel was significantly better than others we stayed at with similar Qual mark ratings and prices. We had a unit with 2 bedrooms both with queen beds. The rooms were spacious, warm and clean with comfortable beds and lovely linens. The bathroom was modern and stylish with nice bath linen and toiletries. The lounge had comfortable seating and the kitchen is the best I've seen in a South Island motel. The split level accommodation affords privacy if you are travelling with, say, another couple or just want some space between you and the kids. Free WiFi and friendly and welcoming hosts. We hope to stay there again and consider it to be great value for money.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CindersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a good place to stay as a family with two kids. The very cosy and well maintained bungalows feature enough space for a family of four. Well equipped kitchen. Great location for venturing into Franz Josef' s and Fox's main attractions. The only thing we did not like: Their arcane internet access. Here they should and could do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Henri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Had a lovely 2 nights here (May 2013) with hubby on our visit to Franz Josef.
The staff here are friendly and welcoming with great tips for where to go and eat.
It is about a 5 min drive into town so be aware of that if you don't have a car. They do have a couple of bikes for hire.
Room was clean and had everything we needed to have a couple of meals in.
The only thing I'd say to improve it would be to have either separate heating for the bathroom or heated towel racks. The bathroom gets cold with the door closed!
Other than that, it is a lovely place that we'd recommend to friends and would stay there again too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The apartment was warm and very spacious with everything we needed. Friendly staff and very helpful on things to do in the area. The Villas are a short drive to the town. They suggested Fox Glacier which we did and so glad we did.
The room looked back to the mountains and was a lovely sight early in the morning as the sun came up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

From the moment we drove into the villa until the moment we left, we loved everything about it. Friendly staff greeted us, took us to our very nice and spacious room, equipped with a large kitchen area and lounge.Comfortable seating good heating and wondreful views. A short drive into town and their are several places to choose from for a meal or just to sit and have a drink.The only disappointing thing about this experience was that we only booked to stay one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

From the moment we checked in we felt both welcome and relaxed. There was nothing that was too much trouble from free wi fi to being escorted and shown the room.
Added extras of vouchers were another surprise.
I do not write too many reviews but I found this place worthy of praised and somewhere you should definitely consider if ever you are fortunate enough to travel down to this part of the world

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing