We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend Christmas”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved our stay at Glenfern. The owners were lovely and even invited us over for drinks and snacks on Christmas. The location is a few minutes drive from Franz Josef - which we actually preferred over staying in town and it allowed for some pretty spectacular views from our porch.

The kitchen comes fully equipped but a spatula and a cookie sheet would have been appreciated while baking cookies and a Christmas lamb roast :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurens707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
129
309
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well equipped, roomy cottages. Rather beautiful buildings in a lovely location with views of mountains (when the mists lift). There's a very effective heater, and a communal laundry to wash and dry your rain-soaked clothes. Books and DVDs are available to borrow, and there is a petanque court, for those moments when it isn't raining. The alpacas are decorative. A short drive from town, so you'll need a designated driver.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The accomodation was comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom and decent cooking facilities but we thought it was over-priced compared to other places we stayed on the south island.We understood the area could get quite busy in November so we booked well in advance via our UK travel agent.We certainly lost out on currency fluctuations but I'm sure we could have got a better deal direct with Glenfern or via a booking agency.There were also plenty of vacancy signs nearby.Certainly worth a try contacting them first before using your travel agent.
Our villa was near the road so sitting out on the decking was spoilt by noise from vehicles accelerating away from the narrow bridge on the way from town and there was not much of a view from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the road,views are best from the other side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The weather was awful when we arrived. Raining hard. We were met at the reception by a guy, sorry do not have his name, but he gave us a very good welcome and showed us to our villa (he walked and we followed in the car).
He also gave us two free hours wifi and showed me how to make the maximum of the time on my. iPad. So easy when you know how.
We were very pleased with the villa. Well furnished, good quality TV, useful in the rain.
Bed very comfortable, one of the best we have had on our tour of New Zealand and better than many in more expensive hotels.
Good aircon and heating. Good walkin shower in bathroom.
Just ou,tide Franz Josef,but no problem with a car.
We stopped in villa 7 and very well satisfied.

Room Tip: Villa no 7 was very good. We stayed two nights and no complaints. Appreciated very good wifi connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was great. The guy who checked us in was lovely, there's DVDs you can borrow from reception he even have us a pint if milk I would definitely have liked to stay longer. The only negative was that the villa creaked ALOT during the night. We stayed during a rainstorm and it sounded haunted because if the door handles rattling so much! Other than than everything was perfect down to the lovely products in the shower.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the villas for one night as we were travelling north. The weather was awful, raining hard and it was great to be checked into a warm and comfy villa with a great heater. Check was good and dealt with a very helpful and friendly chap who talked us through the amenities at the complex, the room and then provided us with a map of town and recommended places to eat. The villa was a great size, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom a good size with powerful shower. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Very good stay and would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Family of 3 visiting New Zealand for the first time. Staff were super nice and more than willing to accommodate. Cesar in particular checked weather & highway conditions upon checkout to make sure that we had safe travels. Our villa was perfect. Kitchen was very nice stocked. Bedrooms were comfortable. Short drive into town of Franz Josef. Loved the animals on the well-maintained property. Can't think of one bad thing to say about this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing