We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed a few nights in early January 2014- we had a one bedroom apartment. It was very spavious, clean and tidy and the staff there were lovely, they gave us great advice on local activities and how to get around town. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and utensils. The tea and plunger coffee were great. It's a minute or two drive out of the centre of town so it was quiet and relaxing. It rained heavily the whole time we were there- the reception had heaps of DVDs to chose from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were astounded by the beauty of the surroundings as we drove into Glenfern Villas. Just stunning. Our apartment was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The hosts were fantastic - generous, helpful, and easy going. Well recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great one bedroom villa with small, but full function kitchen. Quiet location out of town by 5 minutes.

A great location for a rainy day ( there are 200 here every year)- can stay in and comfortably watch a movie, they have a small collection for free.

Hint- Book your helicopter trip thru the hotel, no prepay required, and you dont have to worry whether you will get a refund if everything is cancelled (again not unusual due to weather).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved our stay at Glenfern. The owners were lovely and even invited us over for drinks and snacks on Christmas. The location is a few minutes drive from Franz Josef - which we actually preferred over staying in town and it allowed for some pretty spectacular views from our porch.

The kitchen comes fully equipped but a spatula and a cookie sheet would have been appreciated while baking cookies and a Christmas lamb roast :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurens707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well equipped, roomy cottages. Rather beautiful buildings in a lovely location with views of mountains (when the mists lift). There's a very effective heater, and a communal laundry to wash and dry your rain-soaked clothes. Books and DVDs are available to borrow, and there is a petanque court, for those moments when it isn't raining. The alpacas are decorative. A short drive from town, so you'll need a designated driver.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntheaFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The accomodation was comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom and decent cooking facilities but we thought it was over-priced compared to other places we stayed on the south island.We understood the area could get quite busy in November so we booked well in advance via our UK travel agent.We certainly lost out on currency fluctuations but I'm sure we could have got a better deal direct with Glenfern or via a booking agency.There were also plenty of vacancy signs nearby.Certainly worth a try contacting them first before using your travel agent.
Our villa was near the road so sitting out on the decking was spoilt by noise from vehicles accelerating away from the narrow bridge on the way from town and there was not much of a view from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the road,views are best from the other side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The weather was awful when we arrived. Raining hard. We were met at the reception by a guy, sorry do not have his name, but he gave us a very good welcome and showed us to our villa (he walked and we followed in the car).
He also gave us two free hours wifi and showed me how to make the maximum of the time on my. iPad. So easy when you know how.
We were very pleased with the villa. Well furnished, good quality TV, useful in the rain.
Bed very comfortable, one of the best we have had on our tour of New Zealand and better than many in more expensive hotels.
Good aircon and heating. Good walkin shower in bathroom.
Just ou,tide Franz Josef,but no problem with a car.
We stopped in villa 7 and very well satisfied.

Room Tip: Villa no 7 was very good. We stayed two nights and no complaints. Appreciated very good wifi connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £106 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing