We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
248 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit here and it is even better then last year!
Very clean, quiet, well appointed chalets but the best is the hospitality of the staff. Cesar who was on duty welcomed us warmly and made us feel most welcome. We were given many tour options and suggestions for our stay
Put this on your list as you will not be disappointed

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
308
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed a few nights in early January 2014- we had a one bedroom apartment. It was very spavious, clean and tidy and the staff there were lovely, they gave us great advice on local activities and how to get around town. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and utensils. The tea and plunger coffee were great. It's a minute or two drive out of the centre of town so it was quiet and relaxing. It rained heavily the whole time we were there- the reception had heaps of DVDs to chose from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We were astounded by the beauty of the surroundings as we drove into Glenfern Villas. Just stunning. Our apartment was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The hosts were fantastic - generous, helpful, and easy going. Well recommended

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great one bedroom villa with small, but full function kitchen. Quiet location out of town by 5 minutes.

A great location for a rainy day ( there are 200 here every year)- can stay in and comfortably watch a movie, they have a small collection for free.

Hint- Book your helicopter trip thru the hotel, no prepay required, and you dont have to worry whether you will get a refund if everything is cancelled (again not unusual due to weather).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved our stay at Glenfern. The owners were lovely and even invited us over for drinks and snacks on Christmas. The location is a few minutes drive from Franz Josef - which we actually preferred over staying in town and it allowed for some pretty spectacular views from our porch.

The kitchen comes fully equipped but a spatula and a cookie sheet would have been appreciated while baking cookies and a Christmas lamb roast :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurens707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well equipped, roomy cottages. Rather beautiful buildings in a lovely location with views of mountains (when the mists lift). There's a very effective heater, and a communal laundry to wash and dry your rain-soaked clothes. Books and DVDs are available to borrow, and there is a petanque court, for those moments when it isn't raining. The alpacas are decorative. A short drive from town, so you'll need a designated driver.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The accomodation was comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom and decent cooking facilities but we thought it was over-priced compared to other places we stayed on the south island.We understood the area could get quite busy in November so we booked well in advance via our UK travel agent.We certainly lost out on currency fluctuations but I'm sure we could have got a better deal direct with Glenfern or via a booking agency.There were also plenty of vacancy signs nearby.Certainly worth a try contacting them first before using your travel agent.
Our villa was near the road so sitting out on the decking was spoilt by noise from vehicles accelerating away from the narrow bridge on the way from town and there was not much of a view from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the road,views are best from the other side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing