We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC UNITS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC UNITS”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

These unit although a couple of kms out of the main town centre
very clean and well appointed with a great view of the alps
well worth the 5 minute drive . great place to base yourself for the local activities

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
130
310
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Ceaser was very friendly and helpful. The animals and children's area are wonderful--my son especially enjoyed the antics of the pigs. Breakfast was excellent and beautiful views. We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Not in the centre of town but in a very peaceful setting with views to die for. All the facilities you will need, good on site laundry. All the staff really friendly and helpful. Perfect for our needs and not overpriced. Recommended! Do the Heli Hike on the glacier a once in a lifetime trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit here and it is even better then last year!
Very clean, quiet, well appointed chalets but the best is the hospitality of the staff. Cesar who was on duty welcomed us warmly and made us feel most welcome. We were given many tour options and suggestions for our stay
Put this on your list as you will not be disappointed

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed a few nights in early January 2014- we had a one bedroom apartment. It was very spavious, clean and tidy and the staff there were lovely, they gave us great advice on local activities and how to get around town. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and utensils. The tea and plunger coffee were great. It's a minute or two drive out of the centre of town so it was quiet and relaxing. It rained heavily the whole time we were there- the reception had heaps of DVDs to chose from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We were astounded by the beauty of the surroundings as we drove into Glenfern Villas. Just stunning. Our apartment was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The hosts were fantastic - generous, helpful, and easy going. Well recommended

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great one bedroom villa with small, but full function kitchen. Quiet location out of town by 5 minutes.

A great location for a rainy day ( there are 200 here every year)- can stay in and comfortably watch a movie, they have a small collection for free.

Hint- Book your helicopter trip thru the hotel, no prepay required, and you dont have to worry whether you will get a refund if everything is cancelled (again not unusual due to weather).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing