We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the peaceful break we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

There is a lot good about this place but the overwhelming issue for us was the traffic noise and lack of view (unless you count a metal cladding fence). We booked two nights here on the basis that we would be able to relax & unwind and "soak up the stunning views of the southern alps and native bush from your private deck" as they say in their brochure. We left after the first night in spite of paying in advance for two nights. I'll leave you to judge for yourself from the attached photo taken from our deck of room 13. No camera tricks here - that is the main highway with a 100kmph limit and traffic is 5 metres from the boundary. Not just noisy but quite frightening when large lorries go past and making the deck unusable. When I asked if they had a quieter room the receptionist said they were full, but anyway that is the room that my Travel Agent had booked for me. I'll talk to Trailfinders about that!

The property is about 3km north of Franz Josef and going into town for dinner is not an option unless you drive. They have an arrangement with a couple of restaurants that will pick you up and drop you back. There are no independent taxis available in Franz Josef according to reception.
Other points:
the room was large, clean, well equipped kitchen and good quality toiletries
free wifi
Good laundry facilities at small extra charge.

Room Tip: Be very clear about the location of your room on the property. If you are allocated one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we told our neighbours we were visiting NZ, they recommended Glenfern Villas to us, and we were pleased they did! It's a lovely place to stay and the staff were charming and helpful; so were the alpacas! Come here - you'll love it!
It's worth mentioning that Glenfern Villas are about 3 km north of Franz Josef.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were staying for 2 nights here and were very impressed with the quality of the villa. We even had our own car port. The view from our front door was of snow capped mountains. The property was about a 5 min drive out of the village of Franz Josef but as the village was quite busy we were pleased about where we were based. The kitchen to the unit was well equipped but we only used it for breakfast. The reception even had its own book swap area which was welcome as I had just finished my book and was able to change it.

Room Tip: We were in villa 18 which was nearest to the main highway but after 9.30pm the traffic ceased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay here. The villas were great with all the home comforts you could ask for. The views to the snow covered mountains were just amazing as was the sunset in the evening. We found the villas a great place to unwind after a days tramping. Had the opportunity to see the alpacas being sheared!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

These unit although a couple of kms out of the main town centre
very clean and well appointed with a great view of the alps
well worth the 5 minute drive . great place to base yourself for the local activities

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Ceaser was very friendly and helpful. The animals and children's area are wonderful--my son especially enjoyed the antics of the pigs. Breakfast was excellent and beautiful views. We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not in the centre of town but in a very peaceful setting with views to die for. All the facilities you will need, good on site laundry. All the staff really friendly and helpful. Perfect for our needs and not overpriced. Recommended! Do the Heli Hike on the glacier a once in a lifetime trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
692 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £107 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing