We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Montrose(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
319
193
36
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
193
36
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villashort drivefarm animalsthe kitchenviews of the mountainsstate highwayliving areain towntwo nightsself caternew zealandwalk in showera great stayhelicopter flightour honeymoonsouth islandenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Our family of six were comfortably catered for in a lovely Villa with fantastic views of the glacier. The managers were pleasant and helpful and it was just a five minute drive to Franz Josef. We only stayed two nights but if we had stayed longer one bathroom for six of us would have been very awkward, for two nights we managed just fine. While in F J we did some fantastic walks and the kids loved the indoor ice climbing - give it a go!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Lovely, quite remote spot with wonderful views of the mountains and glacier from our room. One wall was glass, so we enjoyed just sitting on the sofa and watching the snow-capped mountains turn pink as the sun rose. Very well-equipped kitchen, and stylish bathroom BUT - there was no heating in the bathroom which (in June) was really cold. Apart from that, I would unreservedly recommend staying here if you don't mind being away from the crowds (does the South Island have crowds?) and have a car.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank sussex_padfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I think this place has changed owners since I last stayed in 2005 but otherwise not much has changed. It's outside the village so you need a car but is very quiet with fabulous views. The units were very modern spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen. Not that we cooked other than breakfast. For dinner I can recommend Alice May's in the village, especially the desserts. My only grip was the "mini-bar" most of which was past it's use by dates which doesn't create a good impression about maintenance standards.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Glen Fern Villas are a grouping of little NZ style (corrugated) cottages spread over a field on the road about a five minute drive north of Franz Josef. Our one-bedroom had a nice view of the Southern Alps across a small playground and convenient parking right outside the door. The unit seemed new and well cared for with laundry facilites (required if you're doing a glacier hike) and nicely furnished kitchen.

People get into the hospitality business because they either have a talent and enthusiasm for customer service, or because they think it would be a nice lifestyle for them. The difference results in a customer oriented business or an owner oriented business. This is the latter. We did not have any sort of run-in with our hosts, but neither was there any sense of being welcomed or even wanted. It is amazing what a difference that tweek in attitude can make in one's perception of their travel experience.

At the other end of the spectrum was our experience at Blue Ice Restaurant. Our first night they graciously allowed us to order a pizza off the pub menu while in the dining room. To repay the kindness we returned the second night for the big dinner with wine and had a spectacular meal with warm smiling service. You either have it or you don't.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John_Z_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed here in a one bedroom villa for two nights after getting a very good deal online which included breakfast and a late checkout. We liked the cleanliness and size of the apartment. Large bedroom that allowed for our baby's portacot and a decent sized bathroom with nice products.

The kitchen had everything we needed and the two sofas were pretty comfy. Plenty of room for bub to play on the floor. Nice deck with pleasant outlook. Road was nearby but didn't notice too much traffic. I think our villa number was 7 and it was very private whereas others did seem to lookout onto other people's units.

About 5 minutes drive from town and 10 minutes to the glacier. In town we had a very good pizza from Blue Ice Cafe. Given the remoteness of the town its obviously going to be a bit more expensive.

We also drove to Fox Glacier area which is worth a look. Went to lake Matheson but did not leave ourselves enough time to get around to the best viewing points (probably leave an hour or more to do this).

We drove all the way from Queenstown via the Crown Ridge Road to Franz Josef which took about 6 hours with a stop or two. Probably would break this up next time as it was too far with a baby and didn't allow us to stop at many of the viewing spots.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stay3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews