We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed for two nights at this amazing place. The villa was spacious and self contained with everything provided. The large lounge with the two comfy settees gave it a very homely feel. The situation of the villa was next to the office and laundry so it was a bit noisy with doors banging and the cleaners clanging their buckets, but that was just unfortunate for us as other villas were a distance away. As Glenfern villas are situated off the main highway there is road noise, but this didn't disturb our sleep as the bedrooms are at the back. The man who manages the site was very helpful, describing all the trips, giving advice on the best places to eat and generally making us feel at home. You do need a car to get into Franz Josef as it is quite a way, but once there although not big, it is a bustling, vibrant town. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

Our family of six were comfortably catered for in a lovely Villa with fantastic views of the glacier. The managers were pleasant and helpful and it was just a five minute drive to Franz Josef. We only stayed two nights but if we had stayed longer one bathroom for six of us would have been very awkward, for two nights we managed just fine. While in F J we did some fantastic walks and the kids loved the indoor ice climbing - give it a go!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Lovely, quite remote spot with wonderful views of the mountains and glacier from our room. One wall was glass, so we enjoyed just sitting on the sofa and watching the snow-capped mountains turn pink as the sun rose. Very well-equipped kitchen, and stylish bathroom BUT - there was no heating in the bathroom which (in June) was really cold. Apart from that, I would unreservedly recommend staying here if you don't mind being away from the crowds (does the South Island have crowds?) and have a car.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank sussex_padfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I think this place has changed owners since I last stayed in 2005 but otherwise not much has changed. It's outside the village so you need a car but is very quiet with fabulous views. The units were very modern spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen. Not that we cooked other than breakfast. For dinner I can recommend Alice May's in the village, especially the desserts. My only grip was the "mini-bar" most of which was past it's use by dates which doesn't create a good impression about maintenance standards.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Glen Fern Villas are a grouping of little NZ style (corrugated) cottages spread over a field on the road about a five minute drive north of Franz Josef. Our one-bedroom had a nice view of the Southern Alps across a small playground and convenient parking right outside the door. The unit seemed new and well cared for with laundry facilites (required if you're doing a glacier hike) and nicely furnished kitchen.

People get into the hospitality business because they either have a talent and enthusiasm for customer service, or because they think it would be a nice lifestyle for them. The difference results in a customer oriented business or an owner oriented business. This is the latter. We did not have any sort of run-in with our hosts, but neither was there any sense of being welcomed or even wanted. It is amazing what a difference that tweek in attitude can make in one's perception of their travel experience.

At the other end of the spectrum was our experience at Blue Ice Restaurant. Our first night they graciously allowed us to order a pizza off the pub menu while in the dining room. To repay the kindness we returned the second night for the big dinner with wine and had a spectacular meal with warm smiling service. You either have it or you don't.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John_Z_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed here in a one bedroom villa for two nights after getting a very good deal online which included breakfast and a late checkout. We liked the cleanliness and size of the apartment. Large bedroom that allowed for our baby's portacot and a decent sized bathroom with nice products.

The kitchen had everything we needed and the two sofas were pretty comfy. Plenty of room for bub to play on the floor. Nice deck with pleasant outlook. Road was nearby but didn't notice too much traffic. I think our villa number was 7 and it was very private whereas others did seem to lookout onto other people's units.

About 5 minutes drive from town and 10 minutes to the glacier. In town we had a very good pizza from Blue Ice Cafe. Given the remoteness of the town its obviously going to be a bit more expensive.

We also drove to Fox Glacier area which is worth a look. Went to lake Matheson but did not leave ourselves enough time to get around to the best viewing points (probably leave an hour or more to do this).

We drove all the way from Queenstown via the Crown Ridge Road to Franz Josef which took about 6 hours with a stop or two. Probably would break this up next time as it was too far with a baby and didn't allow us to stop at many of the viewing spots.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stay3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed here for one night in order to do the glacier helicopter flight. The chalets are about five minutes from Franz Josef and set in a really pictoresque location with views of the nearby mountains. The chalets are very clean and very well equiped for self catering. Beware of the sandflies which are prolific in the area and can give very nasty bites. This is an excellent place to stay for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing