We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore the galciers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We spent 3 nights at Glenfern Villas this month and had a packed time visiting glaciers, doing heli hikes and riding quad bikes. Glenfern was an excellnt base for the activities being a few kilometers out of town.

We stayed in a one bed villa (number 3) with beautiful views of the mountains. The villa was very clean (and serviced daily) and had all the facilities we needed. The site itself is adjacent to higway 6 and some villas face the highway, whilst not a busy road (we have not found any of these in New Zealand) I would suggest these villas should be avoided if possible.

All said and done I would definately stay again - my only gripe was having to pay for the (very slow) internet facilities which were provided free in all other locations in which we stayed in NZ

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Febbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed in two bedroom single bath apartment. The apartment was good,clean. Decent apartment for families with smal children. There is a play area which my son loved.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
Thank rensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed here after taking a heli-hike tour of the Franz Josef Glacier. Very well appointed villas with great view of the mountains and surrounding countryside. We enjoyed sitting outside, basking in the evening sun, eating fish and chips and drinking L&P! The location is very quiet, but near to Franz Josef. Inside the modern villa was very comfortable and with a well-equipped kitchen it has everything you will need for a relaxing and pleasant stay. The only downside was there was not much privacy outside the villa where we ate our evening meal.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Faultless accommodation!
The villas are a short drive from the town of Franz Josef but have fantastic views. All units have mod cons and are spotless. Would definately stay here again.

The thermal pools are well worth a visit

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We (Myself, Mrs Haggis and our 2 kids aged 6 and 8) stayed here for 2 nights in mid Jan. We booked an an apartment with an upstairs second bedroom.

The villas are 3km north of Franz Josef on the main route into town. We were pretty close to the road and expected to suffer some traffic noise but we heard nothing at all.

Good points - we were greeted by a very warm and hospitable Marcel, which created a good first impression. Despite having cancelled our 2nd nights stay at very short notice he was extremely pleasant and jovial.

The apartment was excellent. Small but exceptionally clean, modern and comfortable. A small kitchen and dining area, living area, a bathroom (with shower) and 2 bedrooms.

There was a small deck and outstanding/stunning views to the mountains and glacier.

There was a small play area (swings, trampoline) immediately in front of us which was great to allow the kids to let off steam and a petanque/boules area - more fun for the kids.

There was wireless access and laundry facilities on site. The apartment had a dvd player.

Reception had postcards, pictures, snacks, travel leaflets, dvds for hire, a book exchange and board games.

Bad points - I'm getting very fussy here but I guess the $5 to rent a dvd was a little frustrating. Especially as we grabbed a couple whilst checking in and weren't told it was $5. Naively we thought they were free. Having paid $550 for 2 nights I thought it was a little steep.

Aircon would have been great - the upstairs fan was good, but noisy.


All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the villa and even changed our plans again to stay a second night. I'd have no hesitation in recommending Glenfern.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at the Glenfern Villas for two nights while we were exploring the glaciers. Our villa was modern and clean and had a fantastic view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. They also had wonderful hot chocolate mix -- not the cheap junk we saw at other hotels. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. They arranged a hike on Franz Josef for us and gave us a ton of helpful information about the area. We also really appreciated the bottle of sparkling wine that was left for us! (we were on our honeymoon). I would highly recommend this place to anyone taking a trip through glacier country.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Stayed here with 3 adult children. Great location. Owner seemed very friendly and helpful (other reviewer was obviously somewhat picky - probably an overly fussy American). Our only observation would be the lack of ceiling fan and insect screens on the doors. We were unable to keep them open because of the sandflies and consequently the lack of fan made things a little uncomfortable. Shower in bathroom was 'superior' - to quote teenager reactions. Alice May was a great restaurant. Thourougly recommend the half day glacier hike.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gladys3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
681 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £111 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing