We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Service, Only one problem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
“Great Stay, Great Service, Only one problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

The villas were great, very spacious. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The only problem that we encountered during our stay: bees. There was a big group of bees congregating near the roofs of one of the villas, and they had come into our villas repeatedly. Aside from the bee problem, the stay was perfectly enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delindaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franzvillas, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Dear delindaa,
Thank you for writing to trip advisor, commenting on your stay with us at Glenfern Villas. It has been a pleasure catering for you. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. The bee problem was very unfortunate and one of those freak things that happens out of the blue. The day after you left we got an exterminator in and I am happy to say the problem is solved. We do apologise for the inconvenience that this has caused and hope to welcome to Glenfern again in the future. Kind regards, Wendy & Marcel Fekkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    175
    32
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
299
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Glenfern. We choose this place as a family of five after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Boy am I glad we did!

The staff was very friendly. Check in went smoothy and our 2 bedroom villa was clean and well appointed. The beds were clean and the bathroom was fine. Be aware that there is only one bathroom to share.

We paid for the breakfast and it is delivered to you between 6-8 pm the night before. We had cereals, eggs that we prepared the next morning in the kitchen, and toast.

The villas are a short drive to the main area of town. We were given a helpful map on check in and the staff went over the area on the map with us, pointing out the restaurants and shops and the glacier.

The Villas have a bocce ball "court" and a trampoline for the kids' use. Our kids loved to burn off steam on the trampoline. They also have a small selection of board games to take back to your villa, if wanted. There is not laundry in the villa, but there is a laundry room on site.

Overall this is a great place for families. We would definitely stay here again. Beautiful area and very nice villas!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiandboystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Our villa was clean, modern, comfy, and very spacious. We had a nice deck and parking right next to the villa. We had a great view of the mountains out our bedroom window. The villas are a quick two minute drive into town. The staff was very helpful and provided great dining and activity suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Be warned, Fanz Josef has an average rainfall of somewhere between 5 and 7 metres a year (depending which guidbook you believe). when we spent 3 days there in December it rained the whole time. This meant we could not do the Heli-hike which we were really looking forward to. Nonetheless, the Quad biking in the rain was heaps of fun and was rated by our 3 boys as one of the highlights of our trip.
All that rain meant we spent more time in the villas than we would have liked. We had a 2 bedroom villa which only had one bathroom and was not that large for a family of 5. It was reasonably furnished. We ended up using the DVD quite a bit and these are available from the front desk for a relatively pricey $5 each.
Franz Josef is a one street place so we found the villas being a 2 mins drive out of town was actually quite nice and not that inconvenient (unless you drink too much at dinner). These villas are a bit more expensive than most other places there but from a quick perusal of the other places they are nicer than most. In summary, if you are staying at Franz Josef, then these villas are your best bet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latebloomerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

Our villa was very roomy, with a real homely feel to it. We were given a tour of our villa by one of the very helpful reception staff, who offered us use of a close horse when she knew we were doing the glacier walk. The double bed was down stairs, with a further 3 single beds in the upstairs bed room, so good if you are in a larger group. Would have been even nicer if the double was upstairs as this room looked out via a opening to the mountains,(more romantic), but I understand why they put the singles up there as the room is a bit biger. The villa had good cooking facilities, and a very modern spacious bathroom. The villa itself is a short drive into Franz Josef, so very easy to get into town.

A great added bonus of staying here are the goats, very cute!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

We chose it because it can accomodate 5 of us. 5 months ago when I chose the villa in google map, it indicated it as right in the town, but it is another 5 km away. The location is secluded and quiet. The units are all individual villa, own free parking right at the door step. Downstairs spacious living, kitchen, master bedroom and bathroom. Upstairs a bedroom with 3 single beds. The bedroom upstairs sit on top of the master bedroom and bathroom, whereas on top of the living room is void. Just outside the living room is a veranda which has a table and some chairs. It has a private playground shared by all units, with a trampoline and a electric? car in a playbox.

Microwave and oven are provided. The stuffs look pretty new and well maintained. There is even a small storeroom with ironing board and misc. The glass shower in the bathroom has no door, but the shower head is positioned such that water is contained with the glass cubicle. Beds were semi soft and hard, just nice for us.

We like the total privacy as a standalone villa. Dislike is the distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

We recently stopped here for 1 night to visit the glaciers on our way through to Wanaka. We really enjoyed our stay. Our villa was modern, clean and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen and nice big walk in shower. While the bedroom was relatively small with just the basics, this was compensated for by the rest of the apartment being quite large.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and recommended places to visit and restaurants to eat at. It was only a 5 minute drive to the main centre of Franz Josef. Admittedly it was a little expensive relative to other places we stayed on our trip - they seem to start their peak season earlier than most. But despite this, it was by far the nicest place we saw online when booking and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing