We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Actually booked this after it was highlighted in a Sunday Times travel mag!! It was brilliant but I have to say we had 2 sunny cloudless days and the views were incredible. If it was cloudy I guess you would not know the Glacier was there. The place is a few miles out of town which you will either like or not like but the units are spacious and just really nicely put together. Book the half day glacier walk. Its not a picnic but something that you can savour and then bring back a bottle of wine to Glenfern and think back of the day.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    175
    32
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
299
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Comfortable accommodation a couple of miles from town with lovely views of the mountains.
Shame they don't have twin bedded rooms as my husband snores!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa and it was very good. There is a lot of space and everything is very clean. It is nice that the villa's are a few km from the towncenter of Franz Josef because it is very busy in the town. We had a little inconvience because of the farmer who milk his cows very early.......
The owners are very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Well, we do not have any glacial memories of FRJ as both the days when we were there, it was foggy till ground level with extremely low visibility. In that weather, thr was nothing much to do, but Glenferns did not disappoint. Fully equipped, we were alloted a villa with view, which hardly mattered in the fog. Host took good care and overall a decent place to stay

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerInPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

A little out of the township, you'll need a car to go out to get something to eat unless you prepare food in your own room (which we did a mix of both)

Excellent villas with lovely views of the mountains in the vacinity of the glazier. A room fot the kids upsatairs ann a room for us downstairs. Well appointed kitched area and very comfortable lounge area where you can sit and take in the views.

Very relaxing stay and glad we chose it instead of staying in town. Very friendly hosts. Undercover parking at each villa.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obiyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

The villas were great, very spacious. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The only problem that we encountered during our stay: bees. There was a big group of bees congregating near the roofs of one of the villas, and they had come into our villas repeatedly. Aside from the bee problem, the stay was perfectly enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delindaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franzvillas, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Dear delindaa,
Thank you for writing to trip advisor, commenting on your stay with us at Glenfern Villas. It has been a pleasure catering for you. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. The bee problem was very unfortunate and one of those freak things that happens out of the blue. The day after you left we got an exterminator in and I am happy to say the problem is solved. We do apologise for the inconvenience that this has caused and hope to welcome to Glenfern again in the future. Kind regards, Wendy & Marcel Fekkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Glenfern. We choose this place as a family of five after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Boy am I glad we did!

The staff was very friendly. Check in went smoothy and our 2 bedroom villa was clean and well appointed. The beds were clean and the bathroom was fine. Be aware that there is only one bathroom to share.

We paid for the breakfast and it is delivered to you between 6-8 pm the night before. We had cereals, eggs that we prepared the next morning in the kitchen, and toast.

The villas are a short drive to the main area of town. We were given a helpful map on check in and the staff went over the area on the map with us, pointing out the restaurants and shops and the glacier.

The Villas have a bocce ball "court" and a trampoline for the kids' use. Our kids loved to burn off steam on the trampoline. They also have a small selection of board games to take back to your villa, if wanted. There is not laundry in the villa, but there is a laundry room on site.

Overall this is a great place for families. We would definitely stay here again. Beautiful area and very nice villas!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiandboystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing