We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families exploring the glacier region.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for families exploring the glacier region.”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

These villas were comfortable, and despite being simple, were very well kitted out. We stayed for two nights in December with the intention of doing a glacier climb. The family running it were very friendly and approachable, as were the alpacas!

Unfortunately Franz Josef was closed on the day we booked for due to (very!) torrential rain so we spent the day in the villa killing time. The kitchen was great - we cooked both nights which made a great change from eating out. The villas are also spread out, which gives a feeling of having your own home to go back to. However, it would have been nice to have free internet access, as I've heard it rains a lot in this region!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young_happy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
129
309
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I was able to find a great deal online (Wotif, I think) and I'm glad I found it. Glenfern is very luxurious and felt like a home away from home. I was an hour late arriving (I felt awful!) but the staff was still very gracious to me - walked me to my apartment and showed me around.

The apartment was huge and very comforable. Laundry is shared, though, and wifi isn't free. Not sure if I read it wrong on the internet but for some reason I though laundry facilities were in each room and wifi was included in the rate. But that didn't hinder what a great place this is, and its only 5 minutes drive or so from Franz Josef Village. Definitely glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Although 5 mins drive north of FJG township, Glenfern Villas was definitely the place to be. We had an 'end' villa, number 18, which although it backed on to the highway some 50 metres away (with a tall fence) traffic was spasmodic and did not affect our stay.
We travelled with another family of 4, they also stayed at Glenfern Villas, and arrived about 10pm on New Years Eve after driving up from Queenstown and taking in a more than a few scenic stops along the way, including the beautiful Lake Matheson.
The owners had kindly arranged for a bbq to be wating for us outside our villa so we could quickly unpack and get a late New Years Eve bbq cooking! It was a welcome start to our stay at Glenfern Villas.
The villas are up-market two storey cabins, they are not apartments as such. However the open plan living, dining and kitchen is very spacious and opens with large glass doors to a raised decked patio with outdoor seating. Large flat screen TV, a well equipped kitchen, very large bathroom with thoughtful items such as boutique-style toiletries, hairdryer etc and then a second bedroom upstairs. There was plenty of room for a family of 4 including two teenage boys. Although the main bedroom was smaller than expected, it was still comfortably roomy and as we were there to take in the sights it was of minor consequence. The bed itself and bedlinen, towels etc was of a high quality and the entire villas was cleaned to a very high standard.
The landscaped grounds are just beautiful and each villa is sufficiently located to be very private from others and the mountain backdrop with views to the glacier gave us some great vantage points to take photos.
The complimentary scenic desk-calendar was a really nice touch, and during 2011 as we turn over each page to the next month, it will remind us of our very enjoyable stay at Glenfern Villas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at GlenFern for 3 nights between including New Years Eve. We stayed in unit #1 and it was great. They had 3 beds set up in the loft for each of my kids. We were greeted by the alpacas and goats. They have a playground that my kids enjoyed bouncing on the trampoline. The family that runs it are super nice and their kids are very friendly and talkative. It is a great location. You have to drive to town, but we were fine with that. The views of the mountains are fantastic. I would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Our family stayed at Glenfern over the December holiday period. It wasn't among our favorites, but I think most people would be pleased enough. Units are slightly dated with tiny kitchen/small living area - not much room for families. Really missed having a fire and/or barbecue option in this setting. Unfortunately, the units aren't well sound-proofed. Our neighbor's TV was loud and came right through. Wished they had queen beds as we'd been spoiled at our other hotel/motel/lodge stays with Kings. Also wish they'd offer free internet or at least a better option than limited time blocks for a fee. We wanted to download an itunes film and it timed out so we lost it mid-way through download; kind of a bummer. Staff friendly and trying to please, though office close for much of our stay so not terribly convenient for DVD rental, etc. (Charging for the DVD is kind of lame; most places we stayed at did not.) Our kids loved the llamas and hilarious goats camped out on trampoline. 2 nights was definitely enough but we loved the Fox glacier hike. Note: as expensive as NZ is in general, you will definitely feel the heat in Franz Josef/Fox, particularly for food and gas, which was at least 30c more than anywhere else.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franzvillas, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Dear Guests, Thank you for staying with us at Glenfern Villas. We have been the number 1 place to stay in Franz Josef for the past 2 years and it is unfortunate that we did not live up to your expectations. I would like to reply to a few of your comments made. Most of our guests are very impressed with the size of our apartments, they measure up to 62 square metres per villa. Bbq's are readily available and are wheeled around to your villa on request. We have never had a complaint about the sound proofing between units. A number of our apartments have Queen beds and others have King beds. We have no choice but to charge for the internet usage as we get charged per megabyte. The property has highspeed wifi and we have 30 minute, 2 hour and 6 hour blocks available, which you can log in and out of at will. Our reception/office is open from 8am to 8pm and there is a duty manager on site 24 hours per day. Finally food and petrol prices are higher in remote New Zealand, as it costs more to freight supplies to these areas! (user pays) This is the same for the locals, we pay the same prices as our visitors. Luckily we are willing to do this, as we get to live in these beautiful area's in return, which, in turn allows you, our visitor, to be able to stay in these beautiful places! Nothing for nothing in this world I am afraid. Best wishes. Your managers Wendy & Marcel Fekkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The Glenfern Villas are located just outside the township of Franz Josef Glacier – the villas are a couple of kilometres past the township and no signposts so are are very easy to miss - in fact we had to stop and ask in the village after driving around aimlessly for 10 minutes. They’re self contained apartments with a small back patio area, very nicely done out in terms of fittings and décor. The apartment we stayed in had a large lounge/dining area, and quite a large bathroom – unfortunately at the expense of the bedroom which was small to the point of cramped. The kitchen was small too but functional and easy to move around in as it was open plan, however it was fairly sparsely equipped in terms of cooking implements. There was no internal laundry – there was a self-service laundry in the main reception building but I don’t like leaving my washing in a public place so didn’t use it. Wireless internet was available but at a fee, which I think is outrageous in this day and age where every hotel/motel has wireless hotspots and most are complimentary to guests.
The setting is lovely at the base of the mountains and some villas had great views of the mountains from their villa – not us, unfortunately. Our villa backed on to a 3 or 4 metre high colourbond fence which itself backed on to the main highway, so it was quite noisy during the day but OK at night and certainly didn’t disturb our sleep.
The hosts were very friendly, polite and helpful without going overboard. We enjoyed our stay at Glenfern Villas and would happily recommend it, but would prefer to stay in the township next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blantyreSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked this motel after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advsior and were not disappointed. Our villa was very comfortable and spacious and although located a little out of town we would still choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing