We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed”
Review of Full of Beans

Full of Beans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Recently refurbished and re-named
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Looked like a nice place for breakfast but we were dismally let down. Staff struggled to understand and speak English and hence struggled to understand our order. Food arrived in a reasonable time but was very basic, under cooked eggs of which I tried to explain to a waitress who could not understand this basic complaint. I would not rush to return as we could have easily made this standard of breakfast for half this price in our room :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adamlidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    240
    123
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Service + Great Coffee”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In short, we had 2 of 2 breakfasts at Full of Beans. Why if just average? Free WiFi and Great Coffee. The food was actually probably average plus, though the service left more to be desired.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow but decent”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here 2 days in a row before the glacier hike. Full breakfast is good, and my wife enjoyed her muffins and fruit tea. Coffee is good, prices fair for Franz. Service is really slow...people seem a bit confused.

Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by for a drink”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stopped here one morning for a drink. I had a lovely iced mocha, so would definitely go back, but my husband had a banana shake which was just made with syrup rather than fresh ingredients so he was rather disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Salt and Pepper Squid”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very nicely prepared and served over fresh greens with light dressing. The chowder was creamy and had several kinds of fish, including squid (notice a theme here). The cocoa is dreamy, deep dark chocolate. We ate outside with lovely view of mts, but beware, this is a noisy small town. Between the may buses stopping with their engines running and the constant helicopter traffic. It is not peaceful or quite. But hardly anywhere outside during the day is quiet in Franz Josef.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Full of Beans also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Full of Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing