We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay, the beds are super comfy, big tv and free wifi great for when the weather takes a turn for the worst! The fireplaces in the rooms also give it a really cosy feel. Owners are really nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    81
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
263
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time! Such a beautiful place to stay at and located 5 mins from town, perfect distance! felt like we were treated like royals! Staff were so helpful and had the best sleep ever on those incredible beds! Thanks for making our visit so special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalieelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in October. Owners were very friendly and had great advice & knowledge on the local area. Room was amazing, fireplace made it so cosy and beds were v comfortable. Whittakers choc bars were a nice touch. We came when the weather was really bad and the owners kept us updated on the conditions of the roads which was v valuable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The oasis is quite new and is mainly for couples. The room was lovely, comfortable bed and a great heater. Sky channels and free wifi. The managers were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a beautiful cooked breakfast as well as fresh fruit and yoghurt. Rooms were clean and just what we needed for relaxing after a big day of driving. It's a bit out of town but fine if you have a car. It's a lovely spot and would definitely stay there again. Loved it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hkcrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Very new accommodation just out of Franz Josef. It's only a 5 minute drive to town, and extremely quiet. Gorgeous, clean and warm rooms! Very comfortable beds. We ate breakfast outside and it was a beautiful setting. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CFNM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Oasis for two nights while travelling through New Zealand by car. The area is great for those who love mountains, glaciers, and the outdoor life, but it would also be very special for total peace and relaxation. There are many great walks nearby, a glacier to experience, swimming and hot pools not far away, plane and helicopter rides, and stunning mountain views everywhere you turn. What looks like a motel from the outside is far, far, better than that from the inside. The grounds are really pleasant and beautifully kept, with an attractive lake. The rooms are furnished and equipped to a very high standard with lots of thoughtful little touches, like lights that dim, top-quality wine glasses, and proper mugs. Having a modern, stylish, attractive, glowing electric fire creates a focal point in the room, giving it an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness that is difficult to experience in a hotel room. The public areas are beautifully furnished with a modern, minimalist look, and have great wall photographs showing superb scenery. The staff are very helpful, friendly, and genuinely interested in their customers. The breakfasts were healthy, with lots of fresh fruit, a variety of breads and superb croissants. I tried bacon and eggs, the bacon was top quality and the eggs cooked exactly as I like them. This hotel is good value for money. It's a long way away from the usual mass-produced four-star hotel chain experience. We will return!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPeteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madwhench73
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed overnight in a superior room...what a treat! The king size bed was sumptuously soft and feathery, the crisp white cotton bedding was heavenly! The fire was cosy and relaxing, as was the spa bath! It was just what was needed after a walk to franz josef ;)
The hosts were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! We chose to have breakfast at $15 each....wow! Fresh croissants, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juice and coffee of our choosing! We were also treated to eggs and bacon, yum yum!
Would we stay again....YES!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madwhench73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Property: Franz Josef Oasis
Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing