We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true oasis”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked Franz Josef Oasis on our recent trip as we were drawn to the fact on its website that it's a newly opened motel .The motel managers Sandi and Mac are really friendly and excellent hosts. Not only did they give us a comprehensive list of places to eat and things to do in Franz Josef but also suggested places of interest for our onward journey when they found out where we were headed.
The Oasis is only 10 mins drive from the town.The rooms are very clean and cosy. There is a fireplace which gives the room a warm glow.The beds are very comfortable and one will definitely get a good night's rest. A buffet breakfast is available at $15.00 and the spread is good.
I would definitely recommend the Oasis at Franz Josef.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandereng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    80
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
257
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

my family and i stayed just one night only as the only room with a queen and single was booked out already but that night we had one of the most comfortable stays ever. the couple who were the motel keepers were incredibly friendly and helpful,just lovely people who made our stay even more comfortable! our room was immaculate and very beautiful. all quality furniture and linen with the most comfortable bed ever!
the room had a big immaculate bathroom with bath tub and complementary tea and coffee together with snacks and sweets which you could purchase. breakfast was offered in the main house at extra charge. the keepers do excellent coffee and are just lovely to have a chat with!there is little lounge area with a electric but beautiful looking and warming fire place. this very cosy and comfortable room was just what we needed after a whole day in cold and rain! would have loved to stay longer!very warm and welcoming place with lovely keepers!

Room Tip: we stayed in the only room with an extra single bed and it was beautiful. all rooms are equally furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was only the second place we stayed in NZ. We were attracted by the fact that the website said the motel had only been open a couple of months, and we were not disappointed by the spotlessness and the luxurious feel of our room - we loved the fireplace and the fireside chairs, which are rare in our experience of motels worldwide. The bathroom was amazing - fantastic enormous sink and lovely toiletries. The huge double bed was a delight. The hosts were really lovely people and were so helpful in every way. We did not have the breakfast, but saw it laid out and it looked scrummy! We liked the fact that we felt that we were staying somewhere exclusive, being a little out of town. The only downside to our trip was the rain - but that was hardly the hosts' fault! We were only going to stay one night, but loved the place so much, we stayed on an extra night.

Room Tip: This place is newly opened, so all rooms are probably of an equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

After a 5 hours drive, or whole day hiking, tramping..., and you would like to have a very good night sleep, this is the perfect place for you! It is about 5 minutes drive from the township, very convenient, but you can also can escape from the crowd. The place is new and clean, very comfortable. After a good night sleep, greeting for you is the sound of the cow, the accidental running by lamb, a duck family in your front lawn. More than that, the host, a buffet breakfast with free range egg from next door is your treat for$15.00 per person. Most important, the warm, welcoming attitude of the host Sandy and Mac made our stay a wonderful memory. It is really the "Oasis" in the Glacier.

Room Tip: The room facing the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiangipannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have travelled a fair bit and would have to say that this motel is one of the most pleasant places I have had the good fortune to find. Sandi and Mac the managers made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. The rooms were exceptionally clean and cosy. I would highly recommend getting the breakfast, everything including the poached eggs was perfect and sitting on the outside deck enjoying the view was exceptional.
Sandi and Mac thanks once again for your genuine hospitality and help with organising our activities around Franz Joseph.
This Motel is a 10 out of 10 and I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent place and Hosts to stay with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbrennan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I work for a travel company and we have stayed in many different places worldwide and we have to say this is one of the best and most memorable places we ever stayed.
Cozy, super clean room with tasteful interior design and a lovely view to the greens, grazing sheep and the mountains. Warm & genuine welcome from the friendly management.
We ended up staying in the room a lot to just sit, relax and enjoy the pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We feel so lucky that we found Franz Josef Oasis. Sandi and Mac are the warmest, most welcoming hosts. They are very knowledgeable about everything in the area, and were instrumental in our excursions based on weather, distance, food preferences etc. This is a brand new hotel, and everything is top quality with a lot of amazing details, in a peaceful valley setting. We ate breakfast outside each morning, thoroughly enjoying the Paradise ducks with their ducklings on the pond in the meadow out front.
Evenings were spent in front of the glorious, decadent fireplace in our room. There's also a separate laundry room available for the guests to use, for a nominal fee. We can't recommend FJ Oasis enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickiandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Property: Franz Josef Oasis
Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing