We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Oasis”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful Oasis”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were delighted to be upgraded to a room with a view and to stay here. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious, with a fireplace, comfortable bed, and bathroom with a continuous hot water supply. Nice amenities were provided in the bathroom and we noticed above average tea choices were supplied. The staff were exceptional! We were shown to our room, and details given re use of equipment. We decided to take up the offer of a four course meal in the dining room, with wine included. We were not disappointed - very enjoyable. On check-out, our hostess provided hand-written guidance on sights not to be missed. We managed to fit it all in, and are very grateful for this wonderful attention. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreaminAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    83
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
274
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This motel is located in a lovely peaceful setting just a few minutes drive from Franz Josef. We had a large, spacious room overlooking the pond & mountains. Spotlessly clean throughout. Very comfortable bed. We had a wonderful dinner cooked by the newly installed German chef. Staff very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here if visiting Franz Josef.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Gorgeous room. Not much of a view, just onto an empty field. When you could find staff members they were very nice but it's not a place where they are readily available. We stayed here for my 50th birthday and they didn't offer us even a free breakfast or glass of wine! It's quite a ways from town so be aware. We did get very fortunate with the staff who helped us with a ride to a restaurant that night so we wouldn't have to drive tipsy. They accidentally charged us for breakfast but rectified the situation. No kitchenette - most of the places we stayed had one so it was a little inconvenient. Overall nice but I'd try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: Try to get something with a better view than ours! The farmer's field next door was not very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As promised the room and bathroom were very comfortable and nicely furnished. We were only staying one night, so the absence of a wardrobe did not bother us. It is becoming a standard feature in NZ motels and guesthouses just to provide a hook or hanger. Can be a problem if you want to dress up whilst on holiday or if you want to stay a couple of nights and forget about the suitcase. We found the siting of this newly furnished motel unfortunate. There are hardly any plants or trees around, the view is out to the highway or the car park and the nearest restaurant is about 5 km away. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great room, brand new facilities and plenty of space. But no wardrobe and the door to the room was the sliding French window leading onto the veranda which was the access to the car park for the half dozen rooms in our row that overlooked the lake - we were in room 16. A new manager is just moving in and offered a mouth watering degustation menu for dinner for $60, but the dining area is adequate for breakfast but not for such a dinner as it also serves as the reception with guests wandering through. The helpful ( outgoing ) manageress booked us into Blue Ice who sent a Hummer to collect us and a Dutch couple with whom we ended up having a lovely evening in Franz Josef before returning to the somewhat isolated Oasis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A beautiful new hotel set in its own grounds just outside the town, we stayed for one night very relaxing evening. Large bedroom and bathroom with all the facilities required for a comfortable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the young lady from Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms view open view of the grounds very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

On the positive side you get a spotlessly clean room with a comfortable kingsize bed covered in lovely white linen and a down comforter. There is a nice artificial fireplace in the room, free WiFi (but slow) and a large TV with Sky channels. The staff are very friendly and most helpful.
On the not so nice side, our room looked out onto the driveway, with no windows that can open. If you want fresh air, you must open the sliding door and sacrifice your privacy. There is no hanging space, except for a single hook mounted on a wall. There was also a single bed against the wall where the only hook was mounted. Being 5km or so out of town, also means no cel reception and no restaurants. A toaster and microwave would have been a great asset to this room.
The location and facilities were an inconvenience for us. Should we ever visit Franz Joseph again, I believe we would rather look at one of the many nice establishment located in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Property: Franz Josef Oasis
Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing