We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodation”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Rooms are lovely, new and very clean and spacious.
The hotel is located a few minutes drive outside of the city center, so you need to drive for your dinner and activities.
Breakfast was not included in our rate despite the pricey room.
All in all our stay was pleasant and we recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tott1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    80
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
257
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice and quiet place, good taste and very clean. The pictures shown on the website are exactly what you'll find.Beautiful garden, everything is perfect! Comfortable bed and excellent shower. The breakfast is very good and Parking is available. The owners are very kind! I strongly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Franz Joseph has limited accommodation. The Oasis is a new motel which offers good sized, rooms and a clean and comfortable quality bed. The hotel to us was quite soulless, it is actually a motel charging very high rates.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were delighted to be upgraded to a room with a view and to stay here. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious, with a fireplace, comfortable bed, and bathroom with a continuous hot water supply. Nice amenities were provided in the bathroom and we noticed above average tea choices were supplied. The staff were exceptional! We were shown to our room, and details given re use of equipment. We decided to take up the offer of a four course meal in the dining room, with wine included. We were not disappointed - very enjoyable. On check-out, our hostess provided hand-written guidance on sights not to be missed. We managed to fit it all in, and are very grateful for this wonderful attention. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreaminAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This motel is located in a lovely peaceful setting just a few minutes drive from Franz Josef. We had a large, spacious room overlooking the pond & mountains. Spotlessly clean throughout. Very comfortable bed. We had a wonderful dinner cooked by the newly installed German chef. Staff very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here if visiting Franz Josef.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Gorgeous room. Not much of a view, just onto an empty field. When you could find staff members they were very nice but it's not a place where they are readily available. We stayed here for my 50th birthday and they didn't offer us even a free breakfast or glass of wine! It's quite a ways from town so be aware. We did get very fortunate with the staff who helped us with a ride to a restaurant that night so we wouldn't have to drive tipsy. They accidentally charged us for breakfast but rectified the situation. No kitchenette - most of the places we stayed had one so it was a little inconvenient. Overall nice but I'd try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: Try to get something with a better view than ours! The farmer's field next door was not very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

As promised the room and bathroom were very comfortable and nicely furnished. We were only staying one night, so the absence of a wardrobe did not bother us. It is becoming a standard feature in NZ motels and guesthouses just to provide a hook or hanger. Can be a problem if you want to dress up whilst on holiday or if you want to stay a couple of nights and forget about the suitcase. We found the siting of this newly furnished motel unfortunate. There are hardly any plants or trees around, the view is out to the highway or the car park and the nearest restaurant is about 5 km away. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Property: Franz Josef Oasis
Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing