We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than USA Motels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here just one night and wished it could have longer. The unit was very well equipped with a small kitchenette which we were not expecting. Great to make a drink or a snack. Very large and clean bedroom and very clean modern bathroom with toiletries provided. Information booklet with restaurant menus and prices. Easier to choose in the comfort of the room instead of walking round the town for somewhere to eat. A very good idea. All in all a very pleasant stay and better than we had hoped for. USA motels need to take note of this one!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Punga Grove Motel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We found Punga Grove to be comfortable and it met all our requirements for our short stay in Franz Josef. The motel is reasonably basic but was clean and spacious, and the little sitting area overlooking the bush at the rear of the property was a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years and it was perfectly functional, but it is looking tired, dated and in need of a lick of paint and upgrading. In the 3.5 weeks we traveled around New Zealand, the staff here were the least friendly and welcoming, which we found surprising. It felt like we interrupting their leisure time, if we dare ask a question.
The Punga Grove is ideally located to the centre of Franz Josef, but I'm not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This motel is fine for a two night stay, it suited us well though the room we had was beginning to look a bit tired. Reasonably well equipped kitchenette, bathroom was average, the shower cubical was very flimsy, creaking plastic. Quite a lot of noise from other rooms as floors above and partition walls are perhaps a bit thin. Motel is in a good position, just a short walk to the main road with all the shops and restaurants + mountain views that you need.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at Punga Grove for 2 nights. We were greeted by the friendly hostess, who helped us throughout our stay with dining suggestions as well as directions.

The suite was spacious and comfortable, and the small kitchenette is fully equipped. Do not expect luxury, as the decor is spartan: simple and functional.

The location is perfect. Once we would return from our day hikes, we simply parked the car at the unit and walked everywhere in town.

Not to spoil this review, but our only downside was that we were wakened one morning by very noisy, departing neighbors as they stood outside yelling at each other for over an hour starting at 7am. This is not the fault of management; but do be aware that the walls are a bit thin, and the use of the bay windows does increase noise from the back units. Think about using ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

All in all, we had a delightful stay and would recommend Punga Grove, as it is one of the best in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great room, with a balcony straight into your own rainforest. The room even had a woodburner stove. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which i managed to fit in, so some lovely baths had there. The breakfast room service was very good. i forgot to place my order, but the rang to check and took my order. Here for two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were simple, clean, functional and nice. They were large and comfortable. The host couple are super nice and helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable. The location of the hotel is on the road behind the main drag, which is perfect. You are far enoug away from the glacier helicopter base to avoid the noise. Yet, you are a very short walk to the main drag where the best restaurants and cafe are located. Ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef
Punga Grove Motel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing