We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Motel is in a great location to everything in town. Large rooms, free WiFi and warm. Well equipped kitchen, even though we did not use it, but used the milk for our morning coffee and tea. Quaint little town and incredible glacier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    122
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
47
196
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The motel is in a good location and walking distance to everything in town.
The rooms are large, clean, and affordable.
Its not the hilton but for a cheaper option this is a great place.
Have a few drinks at the backpackers next door with cheap drinks and a few fire places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The room is cosy and clean. Nice location very close to town. Free wifi. Well-equipped kitchen. Nice view. The only issue is the shower water in the bathroom was not hot enough for more than 2 persons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Being on a budget honeymoon, my husband and I decided to explore something besides backpackers/youth hostels at Franz (as they were all booked out due to our last minute planning). We found Punga grove on tripadvisor and at NZD 120 or so a night we decided to go for it. We booked the cheapest room ie the studio available. When we arrived, the nice lady at the reception upgraded us to a nicer duplex room. It was such a perfect little place co,mplete with a nice kitchennette, super cute outdoor rainforest sitou and the bedroom on the first floor. There was nothing missing complete to the little bottle of milk in the fridge to all the pots and pans and cutlery needed. Punga is situated close to the Franz Josef village center and walking distance from the grocery store and really nice resturants (including an Indian resturant), and all the tour guide offices. The Intercity Bus drops you off right at the hotel as well. Franz Josef is a charming little village with the glacier towering over it, it felt very Swiss indeed and was undoubtedly our best stay in NZ!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mridu_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pierre de Juillers, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

An ideal place to stay in Franz Josef. Very handy for the spa (a few hundred mtrs) where we spent a very pleasant few hours bathing in hot glacier water - ideal after an afternoon walking up Fox glacier. It's not as 'remote' as I imagined - I think I had visions of it being stand alone in rainforest - but it is just one of many on a street which backs onto rainforest, there is a terrace at the back. Could of easily stayed there for a week and been very comfortable - good kitchen facilities but wasted on us as we were only there 1 night and ate out at a good bustly pub/restaurant within easy walking distance. Overall highly recommended and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroomed unit on the left hand side of the reception had excellent wifi (as the routers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharenteMaritime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Large, comfortable studio rooms within walking distance of everywhere in town. The Alice May, a fine pub, is just steps away. Clean, modern guest laundry. Takes the office staff a little bit of time to emerge from their personal quarters to tend to customers at the desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Would give this property 3 1/2 stars. Very clean, small kitchenette, very comfortable. Close to everything in the town easy walking distance. We primarily used this room for a short night's stay to continue on trip, so did not spend a lot of time at property. Has comfortable bedroom, living room area with a small patio. Small kitchenette, modern and modern clean bathroom. Comfortable and a good basic motel room but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Motel And Suites
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing