We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special nothing bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing special nothing bad”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

New Zealand motels are just a notch below US standards so this is average for NZ but would be below average anywhere in the US. The room was clean but minimally updated. The hot water system is not sized to deal with morning shower use by multiple guests resulting in a very cool shower the first morning. Had to get up earlier for adequate hot water. The location is good to walk to restaurants. Internet was free but limited.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    129
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
50
201
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

the amenities are first rate, the hosts are knowlegeable and friendly, the suites have patios secluded by rainforest
The hosts are new to this motel although well experienced with people and hospitality, they will greatly improve what is already wonderful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravel5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The room was clean, roomy and comfortable - great to have so much space to put all of our motorbike gear. The proprietor offered the use of their garage to put our bike in too which was appreciated. There was a large crack in the ceiling with peeling paint so there was some concern that we may get wet if it rained but as the weather stayed dry so i don't know if it is a current leak or not. Plenty of bench space in the bathroom, good shower pressure. The motel is located within a very short distance from the hot pools and various restaurants and bars which is really convenient. We didnt notice any noise. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chch
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a modern rain forest suite and I was very impressed. Very private, very comfortable. A gas fire, spa bath, leather couch & a small but well equipped kitchen. I loved seeing the fan tails flitting just meters from the deck. The managers are very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Well located with easy access on foot to eateries and shops. Quiet and quiet location. More privacy than in many motels and a pleasant greenery view from the room. Relaxed atmosphere was welcome. Easy parking on site.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room we had was massive and over two floors but still felt very cosy and exactly what we wanted after a long drive. There was a good seating area and a well equipped kitchen, complete with anything you would need to cook (a good change from some of the motels we have stayed in). The bed was very comfortable and we actually ended up wishing that we could have stayed a second night. It's also in a good location, set back from the main street but still only a 10 minute walk from the restaurants. Ideally placed for both glaciers too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Friendly receptionist but not always at her desk so had to wait a while. Apartment was clean and comfortable. Close to travel to the glaciers - 25 minute drive. Local convenients shops if you need anything. Franz Josep glaciers a good walk but you need to drive about fifteen minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvinder N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef
Punga Grove Motel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing