We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed here on our trip around the south island. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment. There was a damp smell in the apartment and a smell like vomit in the bathroom. This was by far the worst and most expensive of all of the accommodation we stayed in.
I went to speak to the lady at reception and she did not want to hear what I had to say she raised her voice and told me that no-one else complained, I explained that I did not want to argue but felt we should tell her about how we felt. She said she would inform her manager and no-body spoke to us about it again. Bad accommodation! Bad Service! DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieGoodall, Manager at Punga Grove Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
Dear Simon

I am very sorry that you and your family had such a bad experience here at Punga Grove.

As the Manager of Punga Grove, unfortunately I was not informed of the problems you had with your stay. If I had been aware of this issue during your time with us I would have certainly done my best to rectify the situation and ensure your apartment was cleaned to our usual standards. I have spoken to our reception staff regarding passing on problems and/or rectifying any cleaning issues immediately.

It is our intention at Punga Grove for all our guests to have an enjopyable experience and once again we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and hope we can make this up to you on a future occassion.

Regards
Marie Goodall, Manager Punga Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    125
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
48
198
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Our main aim was to vist the glacier by helicopter - this failed because of bad weather, despite waiting three days to see if it would clear up. Punga Grove proved to be the ideal place to relax. The room was comfortable, large and warm. It is a short walk to the main road, but no noise could be heard from the road. Note that the Hukawai Attraction is under administration and therefore closed. It meant that, apart from walking to the glacier face, there was little to do whilst we waited. There is an excellent supermarket and the food at Beeches was very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igcse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Just a one night stopover while travelling down the coast. Our room was next to reception, two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchenette and living area with sofa bed. All very clean and comfortable. We ordered continental breakfast which was good and a very useful service. Only negative would be a rather indifferent welcome when checking in but would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We had the rainforest suite. It was clean, quiet and hosts were friendly. Beware, shower curtains.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babelybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in the US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We were stuck in Franz Josef for two nights after highway 6 washed out a few miles up the road. We had planned to be camping, but the rain deterred us. Not much to say - Punga Grove was comfortable, clean and well-priced and the staff was friendly and helpful. It might not have been my first pick of places to stay - more a motor lodge than a hotel - but it certainly was on par with anything else in town, if not a step up.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abates25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2009

The staff and service is great ! After our half day Glacier hiking, this place really relaxing with cosy environment.

kitchen amenities is very good and clean.

Far from central area. but close to spa pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAs058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in March and booked the Executive Studio – it was lovely. The room was very spacious, gas fire, lcd tv, leather sofa and a lovely comfy bed. The room had a patio door which led out to some decking and directly onto the rain forest. it was so peaceful. The room was spotlessly clean and the location excellent – just around the corner from the main street. Franz Josef is a really nice small town and would definitely stay at Punga Grove if we visit there again.

Would recommend the Glacier Helicopter flight and Quad Bike adventure – really good fun.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef
Punga Grove Motel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing