We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier View Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
74
87
30
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
87
30
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric cooktoplady who runsrestful sleepdouble studioshort drivewifi receptionpeaceful surroundingssouth island tripthe main highwayin townmini kitchenfree wifibeds were comfortabletea and coffeetwo night staycomfortable staya great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Such a lovely couple that own and operate this business, would recommend, it was exactly what we wanted and a amazing view of the Glacier!!! Would return in a heat beat and next time i may steal there cute dog..
Just as a hint to the business they may want to invest in some non stick cook wear.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Glacier View, appreciate your comments.Kate usually manages to become everyones friend.We have in the past supplied non stick cook ware but unfortuately it does become very easily damaged when sharp knives etc are used on them!!
Hope the rest of your holiday was a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

LOCATION:
A short 3 min drive / 15 min walk to the townsite.

TIDINESS:
Very clean

STYLE:
Traditional, compact rooms. Somewhat dated but comfortable.

STAFF:
Sue is very friendly and talkative. She offers excellent excursion and dining options based on your budget and will even book them for you upon request.

COMMENTS:
The motel doesn't offer a view of the glacier, but it is remote and peaceful. It boarders on a farm where you can see ponies grazing. Being a little out from town, the motel attracts older travellers (which means less sleep disruption from young partiers). The kitchen is small, but functional, with a hot plate and numerous cookware, but there is no dishwasher.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKlaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our stay was in a comfortable good sized room which was clean and quiet and the staff (owners?) were very friendly. We were a little disappointed that there wasn't actually a view of the glacier from any of the rooms.

Room Tip: There are no glacier views from this motel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glacierviewmotel, Owner at Glacier View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and glad you had a comfortable time, however we are a little alarmed at your comment regarding "No view from any of the rooms" when in fact all but three rooms have stunning views of the Cruz Glacier and upper region of the Franz Josef Glacier.The solution for the 3 viewless rooms would be to remove the native tree belt from the edge of the property but then we would have homeless native birds and no wind shelter.A short stroll about the property provides many photographic opportunites of the glaciers, rainforest and mountain tops. Again thanks for your comments and hope you had a wonderful NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had been camping in Milford Sound and the coast then stopped at this place. The owner was nice and informative, a bit more talkative.

The rooms were clean, modern and quite. The owners even had a nice dog, she stayed with the owners, not in the rooms.

Town was a short drive or a 20 minute walk. The glacier was on the other side of town. The owner told us about a lagoon that was close by. I enjoyed that more than the glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent two very comfortable nights at the Glacier View Motel earlier this month (February 2014). The room was clean, well serviced, and quiet. Bruce and Sue, our hosts, were warm and friendly - but the real charm of the place goes to the house lab, who seems to take pride in saying hello to all the guests. The motel is a short drive from town, but a little too far for an after dinner walk back. If you are lucky enough to get a break in the weather, the view of the alps from the motel is spectacular. Recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glacierviewmotel, Owner at Glacier View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and glad you found everything satsifactory, the distance from the town centre works to our advantage in offering a restful setting.
Hope the remainder of your NZ hloiday was an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews