We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service - Impeccable just like the Glaciers...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very few motels or even hotels can make you feel at home and this place is surely one of them.
I would apologize to the owners for putting in this review so late as I had stayed in November 2010, but I would make sure anyone who I know visits Franz josef stays here.
Great rooms, excellent service and very well managed.

P.S: Traveled in November 2010, but unable to select the correct month & year of travel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gagandhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stopped in Franz Josef on our trip on the West Coast. We had planned to hike up the Fox Glaciers and booked the guided tour already, when we realised that there was no accomodation left in Fox, we decided to stay in Franz Josef instead and that didn't end up being a problem. The Fox Glaciers are quite close and driving there was easy.

The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are very spacious and well equiped (kitchen, microwave, large flatscreen TV). We were also given free WiFi access for the 2 nights way stayed there, which is a big plus compared with some other places that would charge quite a lot for it!

The guys at the reception were really helpful and gave us a map of Franz Josef with some advice on where to eat and what to see, as well as some other recommendations for the rest of our trip down after the glaciers.

The price might be a bit higher than other places, but we were delighted to have a nice, modern, comfortable and clean room to come back to after our full-day hike on the Glaciers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights early August. I had purchased a good Wotif deal and was VERY happy with my choice/stay. The large unit was immaculately clean, very impressive ! A fully equipped kitchen area with good quality crockery, cutlery and cooking gear for three. A table for two. The King bed and linen was also quite good. Good lighting and heating. Massive wall TV. The large bathroom, with ceiling heater/fan/lighting combo and towel warmer rails was also very clean. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 (as offered to me) - it has a small patio outside where you can enjoy the view whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As a motel goes you probably can't go wrong. Large spacious rooms and very clean. We had a spa room with views of the mountain which we paid a little extra for. Probably not needed and maybe why we thought it wasn't the best value compared to other places we stayed. However, we had an enjoyable stay, the place rightly gets good reviews and the price is probably just dictated by the location and not a huge amount of choice so I'm not going to hold that against the accommodation! Within easy walking distance of everything in the township and a short drive to the Franz Josef glacier. It is also about 20km to Fox Glacier so easy enough to do what we did which was to stay here and visit and walk up to the Franz Josef glacier before driving and doing the same at Fox Glacier before returning to enjoy the Franz Josef hotpools in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Maybe worth an upgrade if you want a spa bath and views (we were lucky it was clear skies when we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner and I based ourselves here for two nights in early July. Unfortunately we didn't have the best weather on our visit, so both our glacier tours got cancelled! We didn't let this spoil the fun though and managed to do both glacier public walks in the pouring rain.

So glad we did (they're amazing!) and so glad we stayed here as it was an awesome warm place to base ourselves to dry off and warm back up! The rooms are a generous size, by the looks recently renovated and the guys running the place are so lovely! It's one street back from the main street of Franz Josef and given the size of the village, it's close to everything!

Great kitchen facilities, big comfortable bed and the morning we departed the weather had cleared and we had a great view of the mountains! Who knew they were just there all along...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi_the_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Cannot find fault with this nice motel. Lovely big comfy bed with electric blanket, flat screen tv with lots of channels, large spa bath and friendly staff. Kitchenette was well equipped but if you wanted to go out to eat close to all amenities of franz josef

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Fantastic one-night stay in Franz Josef, Spotlessly clean and faultless service - couldn't ask for more when you arrive after a long trip with young children! All the little touches (like coffee plunger and coffee!) go a long way to separating the average motels from the great ones - excellent place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £51 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing