We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and basic goodness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lets face it, you don't come to franz joseph for the accommodation. We needed a clean safe place with a laundry to stay for one night and thats what we got. Very affordable and friendly guy at the desk. Electric blanket was sending a constant charge through my wife's body, we turned it off as soon as we realised. It was left on at the wall but with the setting on zero, the wiring on some of their electricals was slightly exposed. Check your room before settling in, we advised the reception of the issue so hopefully fixed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boomerangtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and were very comfortable. Had patio rooms which were spacious and very clean.

Good heating, comfortable beds and small kitchen - all very good value for money. Little things like plunger coffee and a comfy couch added to the experience.

Only downside was the water saving shower - you had to run around to get wet. This is my pet peeve for accommodation - I hate when I can't have a nice hot, wet shower!!

Other than that nice view from the room and lil balcony, great spot to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Thw motel is excellent, but our stay was made even better by our host. I had booked on line with agodo and hadn't chosen the best type of room. At check in we were told all about the local area and about the different things we could do (from the best walks, the best ways to see the glaciers and other activities to where to the best place to watch the All Blacks game), before being taken to our room. On the way our host explained that the room we had selected was the biggest, but might be too big for us, so he would give us a choice of whether we would prefer a smaller room that some outside space (decking which overlooked the mountains - amazing views). When we went in the room was still huge - more than big enough - and the views were fantastic. Would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to visit the glaciers. The staff is very friendly and would literally walk the extra mile to help you, if you need anything.
The beds are comfortable and TV programs are good. Free wifi is also available (limited). Great facilities.
We stayed there for one night, and would certainly recommend it.
Only downpoint was the stove which was not very easy to adjust level of heat. But if you're eating out then it doesn't matter, there's good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed in a King Quad Room (3) with 2 children. Room was spacious and very warm. Awesome views of the mountains.
We stayed here a couple of days after Haast Pass Rd closed due to massive landslides. We were helped with advice on our trip and option (there was only one option) to continue out trip to Queenstown which was an 11 hr drive up and through Arthur's Pass and down to Queenstown. We left early in the morning so we weren't at the motel very long.
One suggestion would be to have bigger free allowances on WiFi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Excellent rooms with all the amenities provided. car can be parked right infront of your room. very courteous staff offers free milk and internet service. location is not the best as nearby hotels are available at same rates but offer better views of the mountains. located next to the petrol pump and convenience store. Size of the room is excellent and if fully equipped with everything you would need.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gauravbparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived after 10pm and the owner put a notice on reception glass door to inform us to check-in directly to the room, where the room key is at the door. The next morning when we found out Franz Glacier no longer provide half day glacier tour, the owner helped us to make a half day tour booking at Fox Glacier. That save lots of our time, and also make sure we manage to arrive Fox Glacier on time to catch the half day tour. We really love your courteous service!

The room is like a studio with kitchen and sufficient utensil for us to cook late dinner. The bed is very comfy. Overall very clean and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meimei2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £51 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing