We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for a night in Sep 2013. The motel was located near the town centre and very near to restaurants and shops. The room was clean and cozy and comes with limited free wifi. The guy at the reception was friendly and nice. He even lend us a torchlight to explore the glowing worms cave. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    221
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to visit the Franz Josef glacier the next day. The motel seemed family-run, with basic rooms. Rooms were a bit bigger than you might expect and had little balconies. You can't see the glacier from the rooms. Bathroom had a working jacuzzi which was nice. The parking spaces in front of the rooms are a bit tight. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have now been in New Zealand for four weeks, so we have stayed in quite a few motels. What struck me most when we checked in here was that the gentleman at reception never got up out of his seat. He checked us in, gave us our key and told us we could help ourselves to a carton of milk on the way out. By contrast the motel we are staying at tonight, and what generally happens, is the person at reception will check us in, make recommendations on where to eat, where to buy food, local attractions and how to get to the town center. They will then ask us our milk preference, retrieve the milk, take us to our room, place the milk in the refrigerator, show us the features of the room and ask if there is anything else we need. That being said, we did get an upgrade from a studio to a queen room. The room was very comfortable and up to date. We also slept very well. The motel is one street off the main drag and since you could walk to either edge of Franz Josef in less then five minutes it is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lets face it, you don't come to franz joseph for the accommodation. We needed a clean safe place with a laundry to stay for one night and thats what we got. Very affordable and friendly guy at the desk. Electric blanket was sending a constant charge through my wife's body, we turned it off as soon as we realised. It was left on at the wall but with the setting on zero, the wiring on some of their electricals was slightly exposed. Check your room before settling in, we advised the reception of the issue so hopefully fixed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boomerangtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and were very comfortable. Had patio rooms which were spacious and very clean.

Good heating, comfortable beds and small kitchen - all very good value for money. Little things like plunger coffee and a comfy couch added to the experience.

Only downside was the water saving shower - you had to run around to get wet. This is my pet peeve for accommodation - I hate when I can't have a nice hot, wet shower!!

Other than that nice view from the room and lil balcony, great spot to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Thw motel is excellent, but our stay was made even better by our host. I had booked on line with agodo and hadn't chosen the best type of room. At check in we were told all about the local area and about the different things we could do (from the best walks, the best ways to see the glaciers and other activities to where to the best place to watch the All Blacks game), before being taken to our room. On the way our host explained that the room we had selected was the biggest, but might be too big for us, so he would give us a choice of whether we would prefer a smaller room that some outside space (decking which overlooked the mountains - amazing views). When we went in the room was still huge - more than big enough - and the views were fantastic. Would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to visit the glaciers. The staff is very friendly and would literally walk the extra mile to help you, if you need anything.
The beds are comfortable and TV programs are good. Free wifi is also available (limited). Great facilities.
We stayed there for one night, and would certainly recommend it.
Only downpoint was the stove which was not very easy to adjust level of heat. But if you're eating out then it doesn't matter, there's good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing