We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On our NZ trip so far, this has been our least favorite stay. Chosen because of prior reviews, but not up to the usual standard of excellence we've experienced so far. The studio room is small, but that's not a problem, it has stained carpet & is dated. The worst problem is the tiny parking space allotted, which is impossible to get into if rooms either side have parked their cars. Ask for a room on the top level. No views either, except a dismal alley way. On the plus side the man in the office was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreJournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    219
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
109
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful location and a good motel to use as your landing base. The staff were great, helping right away to get the wifi fixed. The rooms were comfortable although a bit small.

What I missed was a table in the room to use for eating. We had 1patio chair so used that by the bed for our table.

The location is about 1 block from the helipad so if the helicopters are running to the glaciers, you know it. They do stop at a reasonable time and I don't know that any motel can avoid the noise due to the small size of the town.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiverLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I am unsure whether all rooms are of the same poor quality, however our 2 rooms were old and literally smelt like hay and manure. We were glad that we chose only to stay 1 night here. Rather pricey too. Also, as the shower was one of those without a door and with a slightly lowered floor, after showering the whole bathroom floor flooded. Lack of a basin countertop meant that we had to put our toiletries on the floor. Thus they got wet due to the flooding from the shower. Extremely unimpressed. You would think that for the amount they are receiving from customers they could ensure that all rooms were of equal, matched quality. I urge you to request a renovated room, unless of course you thrive off the stench of horse [--].

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and it was an ordinary motel. Looked very tired and the carpet in our room was wet and cold.

The tv was not working as well and we left the next day.

I would not stay here again. The sheets looked worn and there was hair from the previous owners in them.

After staying in some great accomodation in NZ, this was nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for a night in Sep 2013. The motel was located near the town centre and very near to restaurants and shops. The room was clean and cozy and comes with limited free wifi. The guy at the reception was friendly and nice. He even lend us a torchlight to explore the glowing worms cave. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to visit the Franz Josef glacier the next day. The motel seemed family-run, with basic rooms. Rooms were a bit bigger than you might expect and had little balconies. You can't see the glacier from the rooms. Bathroom had a working jacuzzi which was nice. The parking spaces in front of the rooms are a bit tight. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have now been in New Zealand for four weeks, so we have stayed in quite a few motels. What struck me most when we checked in here was that the gentleman at reception never got up out of his seat. He checked us in, gave us our key and told us we could help ourselves to a carton of milk on the way out. By contrast the motel we are staying at tonight, and what generally happens, is the person at reception will check us in, make recommendations on where to eat, where to buy food, local attractions and how to get to the town center. They will then ask us our milk preference, retrieve the milk, take us to our room, place the milk in the refrigerator, show us the features of the room and ask if there is anything else we need. That being said, we did get an upgrade from a studio to a queen room. The room was very comfortable and up to date. We also slept very well. The motel is one street off the main drag and since you could walk to either edge of Franz Josef in less then five minutes it is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing