We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for one night but not for longer.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK for one night but not for longer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Admittedly we booked the cheapest room, a studio. This was small and cramped with only a Queen bed, but nicely decorated and clean. Bedside lighting was not good for reading. We liked the wet room/WC/shower with room to splash around. However, there was no cooking facility, other than a microwave, yet a double drainer sink taking up half of one wall, which seemed odd. Neither was there a table at which to eat, or any outside seating, either in front of our room, or elsewhere within the grounds. In general the site is over-developed with too many units crammed onto it. Our unit was on lower ground floor at the back with no windows in the rear wall, so no through ventilation, no A/C and no view. With these units you have to park parallel and close to the patio doors fronting your unit so other cars could pass by. Not the best we have stayed in, but just about acceptable at NZ$137.50.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank godders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    207
    72
    16
    6
See reviews for
99
324
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

A bright spacious and clean room, up to date amenities in kitchen area, we had an amazing view of the mountains and surroundings on 3 sides of our corner room. Nice sofa to sit on and nice large bed. Decent internet for New Zealand which is usually consistently poor.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room upstairs to get the best views. (this will give you a slight inconvenience bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This accommodation was the most expensive we stayed in within the whole of NZ at $210 per night, room only booked on booking.com.
mark on reception gave a warm welcome and was pleasant and helpful. the view from the room was good and the motel is well located just off the main drag. the rooms are large and well equipped but the bathrooms are like something you would find in a caravan, not the place you would like to sit in a spa tub. these need updating for the cost. I would recommend looking at other options in the generally overpriced franz josef. Noise from street is also pretty bad and NO AIRCON is a disgrace especially for what they charge here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mausie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandviken, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Large clean rooms. Nicely situated in the middle of the village.
Extremely nice and friendly owners/
This is my fourth stay here, and it's definitely one of my top Hotels in New Zealand, beacuse of the staff!
It's highly recommended for everyone!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Magalmbruket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We were so fortunate to be able to stay at the Alpine Glacier motel in Franz Josef. It is central to everything on offer in the town - walks, hikes, planes, helicopters - you name it. It was a short walk to restaurants and shops. Really well located. Our room was enormous, with a king-size bed, sofa, kitchen area and large bathroom. Evertything appeared to be quite new and in good repair. What more could we ask for?

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EvelynF1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Well maintained motel. Good space, including a kitchenette in the room. We called to tell them that we were arriving late, so they said they would leave the key in the door for us. So we walked up to our room at 11pm, and the key was literally in the door. Great location in town. Easy walking distance to everything. We were doing the heli-hike, whose offices are literally located around the corner.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Small rooms but perfect for overnight stay. Very happy to recommend this accommodation to others. We found the bed very comfortable and a great place to base our stay to explore the glaciers..........♡♥

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing