We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all I can say is perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“all I can say is perfect...”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very Good room, very clean and with a nice view especially if your on room 19, friendly staff, friendly manager, WiFi internet and its in the midle of the town so just only walking distance to anywhere and cheap price.:-) .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqua0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    219
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
109
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here two nights to use as a base for exploring the two glaciers & surrounding areas. Check in was efficient & friendly. The motel is well located for access to the glaciers & restaurants & cafes are a short walk away. The bed was comfortable & the room was quiet. The bathroom was large & there was a wardrobe, big enough to store our luggage in to keep it out of the way. Free Wifi was good.

The room we had was small - average in size (Queen Studio). It had a microwave & mini fridge with basic utensils for reheating food, but not enough to cook anything more than that. There are two chairs in the room, one a regular dining chair, the other a metal outdoor chair, but there is no table.......strange, considering you can cook yourself a simple meal.

Water pressure in the shower was not very good. Free onsite parking is a tight squeeze. We had one of the rooms at the back & you are expected to park your car parallel to your room in a very tiny space, parking here doesn't leave much room for other cars to pass. We had a very small car, Hyundai Getz & the space in front of our room, wasn't big enough for us to park there. We found one space in the corner on the way to the back of the building that was a safer position & kept our car out of harms way. There was no view what so ever from our room, just parked cars & a driveway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this location. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Good cooking facilities. The manager was friendly and helpful, with lots of good information on visiting the area.

Room Tip: Comfortable for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Overall this was a very nice place to spend one night. We stayed two. The room was clean and comfortable and located conveniently to all restaurants in town. We walked to everything.

The biggest drawback was the lack of internet and though it was offered as a free service, it was pretty non-existent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

centrally situated motel , but Franz Josef is very small, so everything is in walking distance! Pleasant room with s/catering facilities. Rooms on lower level have no view and the car parking spaces are very small ! On site manager very friendly and helpful with on site coin operated laundry. WI-Fi included.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king size bedroom. There was adequate cooking utensils, coffee and tea. Nice flat screen TV. Nice linens and comfortable bed. There was a washer and dryer available.
The downside is that it is a motel, i.e. absolutely no charm. It is located between backpacker hotels. So we had people walking by our room, sometimes very late at night. Lastly, it was the most expensive place we booked on our entire trip. It would be fairly priced at about $50 less. So it was way overpriced for what we got.
So we came away with mixed feelings about our stay, but would not come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had booked a queen room which looked nice on the internet however on arrival we were upgraded to a king. However unfortunately this room, whilst large, was badly in need of a renovation. Apart from the very tired bed covering and curtains the worst part was that there was no power point in the bathroom. The bathroom was totally spartan and designed for a disabled person. As place was totally booked we decided to put up with it as all the other rooms were booked out but it was a lesson to us that an upgrade is not necessarily that.

Room Tip: Make sure you book one of the renovated queen rooms and if you are offered an upgrade check it out b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing