We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A good motel ideally situated off the main highway through Franz Josef but within a very short walk of the Cafes and Restaurants. Friendly reception and very clean accommodation. Only a ten minute walk from the Thermal Baths.We dined at The Landing and Aunt Maes - see TA report

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    221
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A good motel in the heart of Franz Josef.
Try to get a room with a view of the mountain and a terrace..they are at the right hand side of the motel as you drive in.
Helpful and pleasant reception,laundry, good wi-fi, very clean, and easy parking.
Good place to stay.
Take the 40 minute helicopter ride around the glaciers and Mt Cook..it's worth the extra bit of expense.

Room Tip: Book a room with mountain view and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Alpine Glacier is a motel with all of the limitations that brings. That said, the room was large well appointed and equipped - and everything worked apart from the phone. We had booked a room with a view of the glacier – and that’s what we got. Don’t expect too much of a view as the glacier is a number of kilometres away and the window with the view is not the largest. There was a small outside sitting deck but it was close to the window of a neighbouring room and to the public footpath and a busy road junction bringing in coach-loads of backpackers, etc. There’s a small store nearby if you’re self-catering using the well-equipped kitchenette and a typical range of local restaurants and bars serving the many visitors who are the majority in this small compact town. Not necessarily cheap, perhaps pricing is demand led.

Room Tip: Decide on whether you want a glacier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very Good room, very clean and with a nice view especially if your on room 19, friendly staff, friendly manager, WiFi internet and its in the midle of the town so just only walking distance to anywhere and cheap price.:-) .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqua0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here two nights to use as a base for exploring the two glaciers & surrounding areas. Check in was efficient & friendly. The motel is well located for access to the glaciers & restaurants & cafes are a short walk away. The bed was comfortable & the room was quiet. The bathroom was large & there was a wardrobe, big enough to store our luggage in to keep it out of the way. Free Wifi was good.

The room we had was small - average in size (Queen Studio). It had a microwave & mini fridge with basic utensils for reheating food, but not enough to cook anything more than that. There are two chairs in the room, one a regular dining chair, the other a metal outdoor chair, but there is no table.......strange, considering you can cook yourself a simple meal.

Water pressure in the shower was not very good. Free onsite parking is a tight squeeze. We had one of the rooms at the back & you are expected to park your car parallel to your room in a very tiny space, parking here doesn't leave much room for other cars to pass. We had a very small car, Hyundai Getz & the space in front of our room, wasn't big enough for us to park there. We found one space in the corner on the way to the back of the building that was a safer position & kept our car out of harms way. There was no view what so ever from our room, just parked cars & a driveway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this location. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Good cooking facilities. The manager was friendly and helpful, with lots of good information on visiting the area.

Room Tip: Comfortable for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Overall this was a very nice place to spend one night. We stayed two. The room was clean and comfortable and located conveniently to all restaurants in town. We walked to everything.

The biggest drawback was the lack of internet and though it was offered as a free service, it was pretty non-existent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing