We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, comfy, great view out the slider!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay. Clean, all that we needed for a night stay, and well located! Free WiFi a big plus! Quiet at night and close to restaurants. A walk to see the glow worms after dinner a must!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. It is one of the most cleanest rooms we have stayed in. Room big and it's so close to town. Water pressure wonderful, no faults at all. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A good motel ideally situated off the main highway through Franz Josef but within a very short walk of the Cafes and Restaurants. Friendly reception and very clean accommodation. Only a ten minute walk from the Thermal Baths.We dined at The Landing and Aunt Maes - see TA report

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A good motel in the heart of Franz Josef.
Try to get a room with a view of the mountain and a terrace..they are at the right hand side of the motel as you drive in.
Helpful and pleasant reception,laundry, good wi-fi, very clean, and easy parking.
Good place to stay.
Take the 40 minute helicopter ride around the glaciers and Mt Cook..it's worth the extra bit of expense.

Room Tip: Book a room with mountain view and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Alpine Glacier is a motel with all of the limitations that brings. That said, the room was large well appointed and equipped - and everything worked apart from the phone. We had booked a room with a view of the glacier – and that’s what we got. Don’t expect too much of a view as the glacier is a number of kilometres away and the window with the view is not the largest. There was a small outside sitting deck but it was close to the window of a neighbouring room and to the public footpath and a busy road junction bringing in coach-loads of backpackers, etc. There’s a small store nearby if you’re self-catering using the well-equipped kitchenette and a typical range of local restaurants and bars serving the many visitors who are the majority in this small compact town. Not necessarily cheap, perhaps pricing is demand led.

Room Tip: Decide on whether you want a glacier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very Good room, very clean and with a nice view especially if your on room 19, friendly staff, friendly manager, WiFi internet and its in the midle of the town so just only walking distance to anywhere and cheap price.:-) .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqua0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here two nights to use as a base for exploring the two glaciers & surrounding areas. Check in was efficient & friendly. The motel is well located for access to the glaciers & restaurants & cafes are a short walk away. The bed was comfortable & the room was quiet. The bathroom was large & there was a wardrobe, big enough to store our luggage in to keep it out of the way. Free Wifi was good.

The room we had was small - average in size (Queen Studio). It had a microwave & mini fridge with basic utensils for reheating food, but not enough to cook anything more than that. There are two chairs in the room, one a regular dining chair, the other a metal outdoor chair, but there is no table.......strange, considering you can cook yourself a simple meal.

Water pressure in the shower was not very good. Free onsite parking is a tight squeeze. We had one of the rooms at the back & you are expected to park your car parallel to your room in a very tiny space, parking here doesn't leave much room for other cars to pass. We had a very small car, Hyundai Getz & the space in front of our room, wasn't big enough for us to park there. We found one space in the corner on the way to the back of the building that was a safer position & kept our car out of harms way. There was no view what so ever from our room, just parked cars & a driveway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £65 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing