We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great place to stay, affordable, clean, very friendly/helpful staff; they had great knowledge on the area. One of the best places we stayed in New Zealand. Free unlimited wifi. Spa bath available. Lovely and quiet off the main road.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    219
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
111
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a room for four adults (the King family studio room), for two nights. The room comprised a double bed, a single bed, and a sofa bed. The one good thing about this place was the location, but that is all unfortunately. This room was much too small to fit four adults in, and they shouldn't be allowed to advertise it as such. When we entered the room, the the sofa bed was made, but closed up, but then we had to physically move the heavy lounge so that the bed could be opened up. This left almost no space in the room to walk around or put bags down. There was also only a tiny table to sit at, so we had to sit on the beds mostly. The room also wasn't as clean as it could be, and the parking was also a bit challenging, as the car park was tight, and luckily we weren't parked in. The second night was also extremely noisy, as the people next door were cooking up a big dinner, and there were about 15 family members crammed in the small room (with very thin walls). We were very glad to leave to be honest. I hope to visit Franz Josef again one day, as it is a lovely place, but I will be staying elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Franz Josef. We travelled with our 2 boys 10 and 12 and booked just a studio room. The price was extremely good value. The rooms are basic but very clean. They even serviced the rooms the next day made the beds and changed the towels etc.... Totally didn't expect that with budget motel! Impressed. Staff friendly and helpful. They look like they are making over the rooms with fresh paint and furniture too! They even had unlimited internet access. We had an awesome time here! Also did the Helihike thru HelicopterLine and it was fabulous. Ate both nights at the Landing. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a generally average hotel which seemed typical of those we saw in the town. The one thing that gives this an edge is that it's a block off the main road for some extra quiet. No complaints, just nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We loved this place. One block off the main street and just about a mile from the entrance to the glacier. It is a smaller hotel, but you wouldn't know that from the rooms and amenities. We had a King plus room that had appeared to have recently been remodeled. The room was very large and felt clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were crisp and clean. There was a large flat screen tv across from the beds and near the couch. There was also a full kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge and many appliances and utensils needed to cook a meal. There was also a small table and chairs in the room. The bathroom was a large open room with no tub or shower stall, but the water drained quickly and didn't flood the room like another hotel we stayed at did. The water was hot with lots of pressure. The wifi worked well in the room. They have a guest laundry that was $1 to wash and $2 to dry and they provided complimentary soap. It was about a 5 min walk to the grocery store and all the main shops in town. The owner who checked us in was very nice and accommodating and his father was staying on property and was a friendly guy. Parking was right in front of the room so it was easy getting in/checking out. Overall, this was by far the best hotel of the 6 nights we stayed in New Zealand. I would highly recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay traveling up or down the West Coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were very disappointed with this motel, It felt like a hospital room, intact it looked exactly like a hospital room and a hospital washroom, We hated it and couldn't wait to get out of it, The location is good, but you can get better motels in the area, I can't recommend this motel

Room Tip: We hated it, my advise is not to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimaDooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the 4th time we've stayed here for 1-2 nights and are staying longer this time. Each time has been a delight. Welcoming staff, great rooms, great views and great value including no fuss internet. Excellent value for the price. It's a great location in town, close to everything. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the office side have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing