We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had left booking a room until 2 days before, the town was pretty full and we couldnt get the property I intended to book. This is a great brand new Motel run by a very nice couple. This will be my first choice in the future. Stayed 2 nights, quiet location, within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks Raa001 for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you are heading our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Brand new Motel, amazing room with beautiful fully tiled bathroom. Room size was big. Well equipped kitchen but without microwave oven. Price was very reasonable for the style and comfort. We did also use laundry room to wash and dry our cloth. This motel is also opposite of Hot pools so we spend our afternoon there. Aspen is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you Rene_cz for your lovely review.

We apologise for the lack of Microwave at the time of your stay. Opening prior to Xmas can be difficult and we found that out with the supplier of the microwaves unable to get everything we needed. Anyway the outstanding units have now all arrived and have been installed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed 1 night while showing our American friends the West Coast. This motel is new so very clean and tidy. Our room consisted of 1x king bed and a single with plenty of room to move about, a kitchenette and well appointed bathroom with spa bath which was delightful after an active day. The location is handy to the village? can't fault the room at all. If I had to comment on a negative it would be no outside seating. Our American friends were impressed!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you Sharyllea for your review. We are glad to hear your American friends were very impressed with the quality of our accommodation.

The outside seating issue is something we are giving thought to. The design of the complex (as well as the weather) makes this a little impractical but we are looking at options.

We hope your American friends had a wonderful time on the West Coast, See you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had the last 2 nights there. No car as we came in by bus; however within easy walking distance to everything. It was one of the best, if not the best places of accommodation we have stayed in new Zealand. We have had a 10 day holiday in south island. Would definitely recommend. We had room 20 with both large windows looking out to fear dry. Very nice all round. It wasn't on trip advisor when I was looking to book and tried elsewhere first but no vacancy. So it was lucky we found aspen and I am glad also we gave the new motel in town a go.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you Jan R for your nice comments.

Thank you for trying us without any supporting feedback from the likes of Trip Advisor given our newness however we do have other motels within New Zealand which indicate the level of quality, cleanliness etc that we as a group aspire to.

We look forward to seeing you again when you decide you need to have a break from Australia...and the heat. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As it is brand new, it is all spick and span. The hosts are lovely. The value for money was outstanding. Large industrial washing machines and dryers. We had a one bedder with twin beds in the lounge (family of 4) and had to go to bed at the same time as the kids bec the TV is in the lounge, but I did see antenna and power points in the bedroom for a TV. Maybe later on….
Spa was great with headrests in the large cabinet. Large provisions for placing suitcases rather than the usual flimsy foldable stool found in most motels/hotels. Light outside the kitchenette window did disrupt children's sleep a bit, but hosts are onto that and will fix soon.

Room Tip: All good. At end of row, so no neighbours or cars. All rooms are in a U shape not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSM56F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello BSM56F and many thanks for your review.

Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at our new motel complex. There are a few small things we are still working on such as a roller blind for the kitchen window and possible TV for the bedroom. We are pleased you were happy with the price that you paid.

Hopefully you had a great time in New Zealand and please visit us again if ever you return to Franz Josef. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is lovely new hotel. Within walking distance of everything. Straight across from hot glacier pools. All staff were helpful, friendly and chatty. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks Renee R for your positive review.

Yes we are new and clean and modern and hopefully not too expensive! Our beds are King Sized Sleepyhead Supremes and are extremely comfortable. We use them in all of our motels and have never had a negative comment about them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Was looking for 1 night just to see glaciers on our way further south. Nice fresh , clean and new rooms with lots of space, friendly staff, good spot (spa was a bonus). I know franz is a small town but great price for quality of room given other motels we have stayed at in NZ

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Courtenay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you Courtenay G for your comments on our new motel complex in Franz Josef.

Great to hear you were impressed and happy with the price you paid. We look forward to seeing you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing