We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places I ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Court Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“One of the best places I ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I did not book my overnight stay in Franz Josef too much in advance, so I was compelled to take what was remaining (it was the Sunday night of a peak season period). And important, for me, was to keep away from the confusion of the city center.
At the check-in I asked for a quiet room, and the nice lady told me not to worry about because the concrete walls were soundproof.
In my opinion this was the best motel I’ve used during my last trip in NZ (with an average of one different motel per every night I’ve spent in that country). The room was surprisingly spacious, elegant, probably very new, and was in no way inferior to the rooms of many boutique hotels of bigger cities. And the ratio price-comfort was perfectly balanced. I have no doubt, in the event of a next travel, straight here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Yes OscarItaly, you are correct in thinking we are a new motel. Aspen Court opened in mid December. We want all our guests to feel that they are in comfortable and quiet rooms that are also stylish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    194
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
309
588
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quorn, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

quiet location that is close to everything. The hot pools are only 150 metres or so away. I walked everywhere I went, it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is new and has everething you need. I had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks Kathleen R for your friendly review.

Yes we are very central and Franz Josef Village is small enough to leave the car at the motel and walk everywhere. The hot pools are lovely aren't they?

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Staff were lovely, rooms are new and comfortable and reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our stay. Spa bath in the room was a nice touch too, would be great in the colder months. Also laundry facilities were a big bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebrownn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks cebrownn for your wonderful comments.

We will certainly pass on those remarks about our staff. They all work hard to ensure Aspen Court Franz Josef is the premium accommodation choice for travellers not only within Franz Josef Village but on the West Coast.

Please come back and visit us in winter and you can really enjoy the complex especially the spa bath!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had 2 nights at Aspen Court and could easily have stayed for longer. Our 1 bedroom apartment was well equipped with cooktop, microwave and fridge - it even had sharp knives and real non-stick frypans which are a rarity in most motels (probably due to the complex being brand-new). The bed was comfortable, the apartment very spacious and we both loved the large windows looking out into the untouched bush. Our apartment had a spa bath too which was great to ease the aching muscles after our quad-biking experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becs_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you becs_c for your comments.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and made full use of all the amenities provided. The bush views next door are amazing aren't they....it feels as though you are sleeping in the bush. Having the bush so close and the birds singing makes everything feel so relaxing.

It would be great to see you again if ever you decide to return. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great location on edge of the village. A bland exterior hides a luxurious gem. Everything was clean, spotless and very comfortable. The location made it quiet, but perfect for walking into the village, and particularly the hot pools. A great find, and will be perfect once the landscaping matures.

Room Tip: The room at the far end of the car park backs onto the forest, so lovely views from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello Marilyn S and many thanks for your nice words.

As you have noted the "bland exterior" will change as our landscaping takes effect! The inside of the units will however remain the same....absolutely first rate and something we have strived to achieve. It is pleasing to hear you appreciated everything we offer.

We look forward to you returning to stay with us one day. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

By far the best apartment we've stayed in in NZ South Island. Very modern, spacious and excellent facilities. Wished we were staying longer but we had travel plans so had to move on. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you Graham B for taking the time to write this review.

Please come back and enjoy what Franz Josef has to offer....and relax in our motel units again!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night.
The main room was modern, comfortable and well-equipped. Room lighting was excellent. The bathroom was equipped to a very high standard, including a spa bath.
Kitchen had all we needed.
As another reviewer has commented, the front windows are full height, which lets in lots of light, but does mean that your eyes can be drawn to people walking past and the parked cars. However, there is a large net curtain that can be drawn to provide a degree of privacy.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you Selhurst300 for taking the time to write a positive review about Aspen Court Franz Josef.

They are very nice comments and in the respect of the carpark courtyard you are 100% correct, we have sheer curtains that can be pulled across the double tracks to provide additional privacy.

We hope you had a great time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing