We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent clean quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Court Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
“excellent clean quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

what a fabulous stay rooms where clean spacious warm and very comfortable.The moteliers where very knowledgeable on activities,local attractions,history,sight seeing etc.Will be telling all my friends about our pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: no tips had a look around all was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Cheers Peter H for your review of our new property.

Please do tell all of your friends about us, we really appreciate referral business. All the best and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    196
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
309
589
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

modern and big rooms, for those who prefer it a little bit more quiet but close to all it is very good located, neat and very clean, very close to nature, friendly professional staff, it is a 5 minute walk to centre

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frieder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thank you Frieder K for your review.

We hope you had a great time travelling around New Zealand and a safe return journey to Germany.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom unit with friends. It was a lovely unit. Large bedrooms for personal space, and nice lounge area for visiting with friends. Kitchen was fully stocked and had more than everything we needed. Very clean unit with an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NZfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thank you NZfivestar for your comments.

Brilliant to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thanks and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Brand new, lovely, clean motel. The rooms are beautifully decorated & spacious. The motel is conveniently located across the street from Franz Josef pools. Friendly and helpful managers as well. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTaxiDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thank you CdnTaxiDriver for your review.

Always great to hear from satisfied guests....thank you and safe travels back to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this new motel in February for the first of two nights of our stay in Franz Josef and it was delightful.
The rooms have a great modern design and are very spacious and comfortable! There is free wifi and the front desk was super friendly.
There is no restaurant on site but the motel is walking distance from a few restaurants and the Glacier Hot Pools is just across the road.
For the second night we had booked ourselves into the Te Waonui Forest Retreat across the road, but this ended up being such an overpriced let down we wish we'd just stayed on at the Aspen Court for both nights!
Great value! Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krustmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Front Office Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Krustmaster, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were a last minute booking, therefore more a matter of booking what was available. We were delighted to find Aspen Court Motel was new, fabulous, quiet, spacious, large rooms and in a fabulous location...at the end of the road, next to a fabulous restaurant!

We stayed two nights - spotlessly clean and management were very helpful with suggestions on where to eat etc. We highly recommend Aspen Court Motels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marg0tNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Front Office Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi MargOtNZ, I'm glad that you found us, being a last minute booking. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This motel was fairly new, clean, warm, spacious and provided all we needed for an overnight stopover. The bathroom had quality fittings and the view out the lounge window was an excellent bush view. There was a restaurant adjacent and others nearby. This motel would probably be a good base for those wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Brian923 for your review of our newly openend Motel complex here in Franz Josef.

We look forward to seeing you again one day. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing