We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5-star style !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5-star style !!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This motel has only been open about 3 months. Sue and Pete were friendly hosts. Fantastic, large motel room with hotel style fittings - very stylish and comfortable. Very quiet – even with a restaurant / bar car park next door. Didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms either. 5 minute stroll to shops and other restaurants. Spa across the road. We had a good meal at the Asian restaurant next door and a good night’s sleep ready to check out the glacier the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thanks Chris_Picton for your review.

Great to hear from you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sue and Pete go out of their way to help our guests so it is pleasing to hear nice appreciative comments for their efforts.

We look forwrad to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    210
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
324
620
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were very happy with our stay and the responsiveness of staff given the fact that some fit out was still going on in their first week open. (e.g. moving a table into our room). Very comfortable and great brand new amenities. The room had plenty of space for the four of us and the girls loved the spa bath.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bmarsh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thanks bmarsh21

Nice to hear from you and yes things were a bit hectic just after opening. We do hope you enjoyed your time with us and all the best back in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were travelling from Picton back to Queenstown by car & found this new well priced motel on the Internet. We were really delighted with our choice. This new motel is spacious, very nicely decorated, has an excellent kitchen & excellent bathroom~so well fitted out. Plenty of power points, very comfortable bed including an extra bed & spa bath we did not need. Lighting, design & decor was well thought out. Reception were very helpful and we enjoyed free WIFi~ always a deciding factor on where we book when overseas. This motel is a gem of a find and has an excellent Asian restaurant next door. You will be sorry if you do not stay here!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redCairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Cheers redCairns_Australia

Great comments and really nice to get such feedback. We plan well when we build a new complex and believe we have the best model so it is great to hear from guests whom appreciate all of the time and thought that has gone into the design and build.

We would love to see you back on West Coast again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent facilities, comfortable bed...huge too! Was looking forward to cooking a chicken curry in the well equipped kitchen but disappointed that we were not allowed to cook fish or spicy food:( so we had honey and ginger chicken instead!! :) it was quite an understandable and acceptable rule and we thoroughly had a fantastic stay there....would definitely stay there again and highly recommend Aspen Court Motel...in fact we are staying at the Aspen Court Motel in Kaikoura on Saturday.
Hotel receptionist was very friendly and helpful with info.

Room Tip: All rooms were much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynetteBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Lynettebristol, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if you couldn't cook your curry! I hope Kaikoura was as good. Enjoy the rest of your trip in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briar Hill Victoria 3088
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location, opposite the hot springs. Very good asian /Indian restaurant next door. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was very new, clean and spacious. . Beds were very comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Aspen Court

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hgmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Front Office Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
It's good to hear that you had a good sleep, and yes the two bedroom units are large and spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed a night at the motel. The motel is located at one end of the street so it is very quiet. My car was parked in front of my room (it's actually a villa) which is very convenient. The room was quite big as it has one single bed and one double bed. I like the kitchenette as it provides enough stuffs for me to cook dinner and breakfast. The bathtube is a SPA one which can hold 2 persons. The room is very clean and most stuffs are very new. The staff is nice and friendly, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vincentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Hello vincentraveller. Thanks for taking the time to write these lovely comments.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

what a fabulous stay rooms where clean spacious warm and very comfortable.The moteliers where very knowledgeable on activities,local attractions,history,sight seeing etc.Will be telling all my friends about our pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: no tips had a look around all was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Cheers Peter H for your review of our new property.

Please do tell all of your friends about us, we really appreciate referral business. All the best and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing