We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All modern amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very new motel on the edge of Franz Josef village with easy access to all the shops and restaurants. Very new feel to the room. Really comfortable and quiet. Nowhere to sit outside the motel room. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Ideal stopping point for a short visit to Franz Josef.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pgmflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Yes you're correct PGTips01, we are a new motel - only opened in Dec. The outside seating areas are still being worked on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The big room was exceptionally clean, fresh smelling and warm. The huge windows show the deep bush that surrounds the motel. In the night there was not a single noise. You can walk in 2 minutes to the main road but it is quietly tucked away from the bustle. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: If you want a jacuzzi choose the two bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Gracias Viajeraferoz for your comments.

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you again one day.

Pasa un buen viaje!

Adios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent one night here on our way down the West Coast. The rooms are probably the most stylish motel rooms I have seen in NZ...very spacious and well appointed. The location is great, near everything but very quiet. And the owners were very helpful in making bookings and even adding money to the laundry meter so our clothes would be dry before we left. Overall, we were very impressed and would have liked to have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks Andrew T for your nice comments.

Please do come back and stay with us again...if you can make the time. It was a pleasure having you stay at Aspen Court Franz Josef.

Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

As par with our entire experience in NZ, great hosts is the stand out for this place. Nice and clean and right next to the hot water springs and a stones throw to the eating joints. It was practically new when we stayed here in mid Feb and was super clean. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5haleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Thank you 5haleen for your review.

Very nice to hear back from you and that you were most impressed with our standard of accommodation. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This motel has only been open about 3 months. Sue and Pete were friendly hosts. Fantastic, large motel room with hotel style fittings - very stylish and comfortable. Very quiet – even with a restaurant / bar car park next door. Didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms either. 5 minute stroll to shops and other restaurants. Spa across the road. We had a good meal at the Asian restaurant next door and a good night’s sleep ready to check out the glacier the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Thanks Chris_Picton for your review.

Great to hear from you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sue and Pete go out of their way to help our guests so it is pleasing to hear nice appreciative comments for their efforts.

We look forwrad to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were very happy with our stay and the responsiveness of staff given the fact that some fit out was still going on in their first week open. (e.g. moving a table into our room). Very comfortable and great brand new amenities. The room had plenty of space for the four of us and the girls loved the spa bath.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bmarsh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Thanks bmarsh21

Nice to hear from you and yes things were a bit hectic just after opening. We do hope you enjoyed your time with us and all the best back in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were travelling from Picton back to Queenstown by car & found this new well priced motel on the Internet. We were really delighted with our choice. This new motel is spacious, very nicely decorated, has an excellent kitchen & excellent bathroom~so well fitted out. Plenty of power points, very comfortable bed including an extra bed & spa bath we did not need. Lighting, design & decor was well thought out. Reception were very helpful and we enjoyed free WIFi~ always a deciding factor on where we book when overseas. This motel is a gem of a find and has an excellent Asian restaurant next door. You will be sorry if you do not stay here!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank redCairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Cheers redCairns_Australia

Great comments and really nice to get such feedback. We plan well when we build a new complex and believe we have the best model so it is great to hear from guests whom appreciate all of the time and thought that has gone into the design and build.

We would love to see you back on West Coast again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing