We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Positive: Clean rooms with nice bathroom. Good water pressure. At end of road in Franz Josef, but everything is easily accessible. Very nice owners.

Negative: None. This is a very well run small hotel that works great for the location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NosDucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We're glad that you had a great stay here in Aspen Court. Thanks NosDucar for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked online for this hotel and all went well with our booking. The rooms are clean, nice and the bed was very comfortable. Its walking distance to town for dinner and breakfast and easy driving distance to Franz Josef Glacier. The showers were great. I love a hotel with good water pressure. We only stayed one night, but I would have like to have checked out a few more glacier trails and I would easily book this hotel for multiple nights. Its a great little find.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks JoHall123. Good to hear that you enjoyed our motel. Yes there are many walks here to do, and not enough time - maybe next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely new hotel, great location with nice views. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was just across the road from the hot pools which were a great way to relax for the afternoon.

No blinds on the kitchen window which meant as soon as it got light we were woken up

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MH992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I'm sorry about their being no blinds in the kitchen when you stayed. But we have since remedied that, and every unit has them. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hot pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The room was spacious & warm and within an easy walk to town & places to eat. The only criticism was that the person next door decided to run their spa bath at 10.30pm!! Apart from this irritation we were more than happy with the surroundings & would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi CarolineW1966 Sorry about the neighbours late night spa, something we can't control though. Am glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! This was our favorite place while travelling round Nz. This is great value for money. A Must stay.
Dad enjoyed the hot tub.
Mum said cushions and curtains were amazing!!! Chinese right next door was really good as well.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ryanprice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Front Office Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for all the positives. It's always good to have a spa bath don't you think. We know we're value for money as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

From the outside this place looks like a typical 1970s motel but once inside you'll find a chic modern studio fully equipped with kitchenette and spa bath. It's right opposite the hot pools. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelJTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks MelJTait - We're a newly built motel on the outside and the inside is beautiful and chic isn't it. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I do not stay in motels in the U.S. so I was delightfully surprised when I stepped into my room at Aspen Court Franz Josef. The studio style room was clean, well designed, and perfect for two people. My room was very cozy and I felt very safe, even with a sliding glass door for entry. There are plenty of places to eat and shop within reasonable walking distance. Sentinel Rock is very close and the easy walk towards the glacier was very easy. Just make sure that you get there well before dawn to capture the beauty in the sunlight. I slept like a rock! .... No pun intended :)

Room Tip: I am a very picky person when it comes to lodging, and my room (#6) was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineMT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

It's good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in Franz. Thanks ElaineMT12 for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: £90 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing