We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Court Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spend a night at this lovely motel. Everything is brand new and sparkling clean. The interior of our two rooms unit were nicely decorated. There's is a spa pool in every unit. Bit of walk to the centre of the town (we drove anyway). For the 1 bedroom unit, there were two queen beds which can accommodate 4 people comfortably.Wifi is available. Plenty of parking outside the units. Lovely host who help us to make lots of calls to enquire on the glacier hiking tours, finally we settled for a scenic flight. Also Thanks a lot for informing us that our items were left out in the unit. Really a great host and a pleasant stay at Aspen court! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi and thank you for your comments. The centre of town is a leisurely ten minute stroll and a nice way to see our village. All of our beds here at Aspen Court are King size beds ,heaps of room to stretch out. Were glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    194
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
309
588
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Franz Josef despite some wild weather. There were no helicopter flights but we braved it and walked everywhere in wet weather gear. It was lovelt to come back to a beautiful apartment with lovely comfortable beds and a giant spa bath as well. The garden through the feature window was beautiful. Staff were helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend the facility for a comfortable comnvenient stay

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a two bed room apartment with spa bath. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Kathryn F Yes sorry about the weather, but good to hear that you enjoyed the spa bath on your return from your walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

With an unplanned trip to Franz Joseph at the last minute, Aspen Court was more than accommodating. The rooms are immaculate, the colors are great and the service and furnishings in the room are outstanding. Excellent, welcoming hosts who made our stay very special. Great walking distance to town and a fantastic restaurant next door. Soundproof rooms and decent sized spa baths. Will visit again on our next trip! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaWiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thanks SaWiLi for your review.

Great review and thank you for taking the time to write it! We do appreciate such comments and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Surprised at the value. Clean, new, beautiful rooms with everything you need (stove and all). Good location too, right amongst it all. A few doors down from Monsoon where you can eat like Kings and enjoy a glass of wine by the fire. Very pleased with our stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CC_goes_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Yes we think they are good value too. And an excellent location to all the restaurants in Franz. Thanks again CC_goes_abroad .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This place is incredible, we'll laid out rooms, excellent service, furnishings are top quality. The quality and cleanliness of this accomodation is better than some that I've stayed in for twice the price. Highly recommend Aspen Court Franz Josef! !!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ziara99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much Ziarra99 for your review. I'm please to hear your great comments on the cleanliness, and the quality furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked ahead & on arrival thought the place looked a bit 1980's from the outside, but the interior was excellent: spacious, warm [with great heater] & virtually new & very well appointed. Good restaurant next door. We were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for your review BRC36. We have diesel boil radiators throughout the complex for great heating, which also means no noise. Is always a good thing in a motel. Landscaping is still happening for outside. Nearly finished now. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely new motel - only opened in. December 2013. Well equipped with comfortable bed and very warm. Really helpful hosts who were happy to recommend things to do and places to eat. Located right across the road from the hot pools. Would be happy to stay again

Room Tip: We had a room in the middle of complex and had no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJane1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It's excellent to hear that you had a great stay here. Thanks for the review NicolaJane 1961.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing