We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Franz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay in Franz”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed only one night during a quick circuit of the West Coast... Friendly reception by Sue, lovely modern clean warm and comfortable motel unit. Very quiet location but handy to restaurants and the hot pools. Highly recommended, good value! Thanks Sue and Pete

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Stephanie .Thanks for your comments. Perhaps you'll be able to stay a little longer on your next visit to the Coast. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    211
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
326
625
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Beautifully styled and equipped room. King size super comfortable bed. Heated tiles in bathroom and kitchen were a bonus and radiator came in handy to dry togs and towells after our wander across the road to the hotpools.
Friendly and helpful owners. Late checkout wasnt a problem which was greatly appreciated as our helicopter flight was back after 10am.
Couldnt pick a fault with the facilities and enjoyed our stay at Aspen Court.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 970nikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi and thank you for your review. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and if we can ,always try accommodate a late check out etc .
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for two nights with kids.Nice quiet accommodation. Everything perfectly clean and all you needed was there. Plenty of information provided in room for local dining and attractions, which made it nice and simple. Hosts were friendly and helpful.
Nice crockery provided and spa bath was fun for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Marg and thanks for your review. Were glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed some of Franz Josefs restaurants and activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Extremely comfortable with all the mod cons needed for a family. Our outdoor activities were limited due to rain. However, the girls where more than happy to stay indoors. The owners organised quad bike tours for the boys who had an amazing time.
Owners are very helpful, knowledgeable and able to accommodate our needs.

Room Tip: They are all beautifully designed, we stayed in the back corner family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Kerry L. Sorry about the rain during your visit ,That's the price we pay for being surrounded by beautiful rain forest. Good to hear the guys enjoyed the Quad bikes, there great fun rain or shine.
Glad you enjoyed our large family apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
303 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this new motel which is away from the Main Street and so is quiet at night. It is very well-appointed, the owners are professional, friendly and knowledgable, they gave us some good advice about the local attractions, of which there are many in this hugely scenic part of NZ. We dined at the two closest restaurants, both of which we can also highly recommend! So we are very satisfied customers!!

Room Tip: Family unit with two bedrooms, one with three single beds and the other with a king size bed, suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Don. Thanks for taking time out to write a review. There really is some great things to see and do in Franz Josef, Yes the scenery around the area is amazing, the rain forest seems to go on for ever.
Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our great restaurants.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are a family of 5 (4 adults) and we stayed in one of the two bed units. It was warm,stylish,immaculately clean and had everything we needed. Very comfortable beds. On the edge of town so very quiet location with windows looking out onto rain forest. Owners very friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Teresa and thanks for your comments. Yes we would have loved you to stay longer with us too.Theres so much to see and do here in Franz Josef.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was one of our favorite hotels we stayed in during our two-week vacation to New Zealand. From the outside, there is a cute and comfortable retro feel to the place. The rooms are clean, modern, and well-equipped. The beds are like sleeping on comfy clouds and the shower was so amazing I never wanted to get out! The setting is among forests and close to the Franz Josef glacier. There are plenty of outdoor opportunities but at the very least make sure you hike to the foot of the glacier.

Also, the restaurant next door serves tasty chow mein.

Definitely, definitely stay here if you are visiting the Franz Josef area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Audrey. Thanks for your review. Yes the showers are great with heaps of water pressure .Its certainly a bonus having a nice restaurant right next door .
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing