We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top spot to stay in a top spot of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Happy Valley, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top spot to stay in a top spot of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Absolutely loved Franz Josef and the Aspen Court Motel.
Sue & Pete were so very helpful and the their Motel was one of the best we have ever stayed in - loved the rooms (very spacious) and the spa bath was awesome!!. A lovely way to end a day in the snow.
Everybody must do a Glazier Tour - it is the most awesome experience.
Thanks again guys :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacieclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks Spacieclan for your lovely comments about our Motel. The glacier tours and hikes really are amazing and are the best way to get to see the ice. Its an experience not to be missed while in Franz Josef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    207
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
316
606
26
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here over the weekend, we had a great stay. The Motel is modern, clean and spacious. The owners are really friendly and helpful. The Motel is a quick walk to town, and Restaurants. We will be back to stay again. Thanks for a great stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1 T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Kiwi1 ,Thanks for your review and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were blown away by staying here. Easy to book, good value price, really friendly reception, lovely little touches like lighting and heating our room for our arrival and the room was just incredible. Spotless, there was a spa and really well equipped kitchen. Great restaurants near by. Really liked it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noleham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks Noleham ,Its always nice to here the effort we put into presenting our rooms is appreciated. Always nice to walk into a warm cosy room if its a little cold outside.
Glad you enjoyed you stay.
Pete and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place would rate as boutique quality in a major city; in Franz Josef it's amazing. The staff were kind to us, the whirlpool bath was wonderfully relaxing, and the bed was comfortable. There's really nothing wrong with this place and a lot right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks Dee V for your nice comments about our motel. We believe our Motel is amongst the best here in Franz and glad you chose to stay with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

New room with a spa, clean and spacious. GREAT price and comfy beds. It was also so lovely to have great service. Dinner was booked for us and so was our private hot pool spa and massage - thanks Sue. We're so happy we stopped in franz josef.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
hi sofia. At the moment we are in the winter season so our rates are very reasonable for such lovely rooms and our service we always enjoy giving for free.
Thanks, Pete and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the time of checking in to check out, Managers Pete and Sue were excellent hosts.

Stayed for a night in July with Wife and Daughter. The rooms are new and tastefully furnished. The next door King tiger restaurant and bar has sumptuous food and open till late.

Pete was wonderful in arranging the Heli flight tour, though it was a last minute request. Will surely come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi cjkannan and thanks for the review. Glad you got to enjoy what Franz Josef has to offer and always look forward to seeing our guests return to stay with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is the most worthy hotel that we have stayed in New Zealand. There were a few mosquitos flying around outside the room. It is unusual to find in the hotel; however, it is understandable in the remote location. If window an door screen can be placed,it will be great especially while we open door and windows for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Eric, sounds like you got acquainted with some of our local wildlife. We don't have to many problems with the mozzies even though we are surrounded by rain forrest.We could put screens over the doors and windows but feel this would detract from great bush views.
We also have insect repellant available at reception.
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Property: Aspen Court Franz Josef
Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing