We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,344 results
Traveller rating
1,059
236
35
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
236
35
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathhot poolsasian restaurantking tigermodern motelwalking distancebedroom apartmentexcellent accommodationnew zealandquiet locationgreat place to staythe kitchenking bedgreat roomcomfortable bedswould definitely stay here againhot springs
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 1,344 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice motel. New fresh and so clean. Good sized units and self contained which is perfect for us traveling with an infant. Beds are very comfortable and the service offered by the staff is very friendly and helpful- only positive things from our experience. A short stroll into the small town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Deanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

thank you for your review. Our self contained apartments are great for travellers as they have everything you need to cook a meal, do your laundry etc.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay
Pete and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great motel for a stay in Franz Josef. The small Kitchenette was great, it's so nice to be able to cook food whilst staying in a room which is hotel standard. The staff were friendly and helpful, with plenty of advice for day trips and activities. The internet was slow and very limited however, which wasn't a big problem as many of the local cafés have wifi. The room was lovely and spacious, well decorated and comfortable large bed. Would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GourmetGooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Gourmetgooners. Travellers like yourselves love the kitchens in all of our rooms, the ability to whip up a meal while on holiday instead of having to dine out.
Thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here one night, june 2014. Studio # 2.
The studio flat looked new, very well furnished, spotlessly clean, full size kitchen with everything needed to cook full meals, bathroom with a spa tub. Simply excellent.
The owners are nice, friendly and helpful. I needed to print the boarding passes, and they kindly let me use the PC and color printer at the reception, with no charge, very nice of them.
Unfortunately we could spend only one day in Franz Josef, the area is worth spending more time and Aspen Court is the perfect place to stay.
Actually this is the best place we stayed during our trip in New Zealand. And one of the best places we stayed ever, period.
Thanks guys, hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dangerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Dangerly. Its our pleasure if we can help out in any way to make your stay that more pleasant.
Your right, one night in Franz Josef just isn't enough time to see and do the things you should before moving on.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

It was very very rainy day when I arrived there. Sue, One of the owners greeted us warmly as we arrived. She even provided large umbrellas for free just as soon as she noticed we had no umbrella.
The room was excellent. It was really good same room as hotel.
I could experience very comfortable staying.
I'll stay here again whenever I visit in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Aileen. Yes our umbrellas come in handy ay times, the price we pay for living in a rain forest but so beautiful. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks Pete and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Motel opened in Dec 2013 I think and it still has the lovely feel of everything being new and in excellent condition. All fittings and fixtures, inc fabrics and linen / towels VG quality. The kitchenette was very well equipped, with bone china crockery and good glassware. We had a two bedded unit, one double bed in separate room. The other bed, which could be double or twin in the main room. Bathroom separate to bedroom, excellent quality spa bath with shower over. Range of shampoo, soap, makeup remover, body lotion etc all very nice. The lounge had a very comfy leather sofa and round table / four chairs. Milk and good range of tea / coffee etc. View from lounge and bedroom (back of unit) was of the rainforest (not sure that all units have same view). Car parking outside of units.

Check-in very efficient and staff very helpful with booking trips etc. Close to many restaurants. To sum up, first class accommodation that beats a lot of higher end market hotels. You would go a long way to beat this Motel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 97Review97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to post a great review about our Motel. Our range of studio rooms and one and two bedroom apartments can cater for most travellers as bed configuration can be changed to suit family groups etc. The views are best from the apartments and our whole motel complex is surrounded by rainforest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews