We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Park, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This site has everything you could want and more. We stayed in a camper van and the site was comfortable and private. There is a good kitchen and laundry and the toilet shower block was clean and spacious. They are currently building a new one which will be excellent. There is a pub and restaurant on-site which has a lovely open fire. The site is professional but still has a very friendly family feel about it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    505
    221
    108
    53
See reviews for
245
682
101
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Completely different experience from commercial hotels, the tree huts that we stayed in were extremely clean and bring you straight up close to nature!

Only a few minutes walk to everything, the money for the tree hut is definitely worth it!

Hoping to stay again and longer to enjoy the most of it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri_t_berri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in the Tree House, which while not a literal tree house, is set amongst the verdant West Coast rainforest. Very private and clean, with a lovely deck and windows all around looking onto the lush scenery. It has a full-kitchen and comfortable living room and dining room. We all wished we could just stop and live there! I highly recommend staying in the Tree House if you can when traveling down the West Coast. We certainly with seek to stay there again the next time we're in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

well located with and all the facilities you could want for your stay (be it back packing, self catering, self drive or camper vans).
The staff were helpful and courteous (some of the best we came across in NZ).
The surroundings are lovely & its a 2 min walk to the main street.
Its used by a number of group tours (GAP, Contiki etc) but noise levels weren't too bad.
The self contained room we had came with a well equiped kitchen and great heating, and the rooms were serviced daily (quite unusual for Holiday Parks in NZ).

Room Tip: rooms on top floor are quieter as cars park directly up against lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a motel style room which was a step above what we have found to be a very good average during our month in NZ. Clean, comfortable and well equipped in the NZ style (nescafe, tea, chocolate and milk provided, as well as basic tools and bowls for microwave stuff). The location is great (though the whole of FJ is quite small... ) and there is a nice restaurant bar on the premises. They have a considerable mix of accommodation choices from backpacker to self contained cabins as well. They also have available a 10 by 15 foot hot tub, and a small private hot tub available by reservation without charge. Internet is free and great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a great rate; weren't expecting much; were arriving late and leaving early; and read TA reviews prior to booking. So here are the highlights:
-Tiny rooms (smaller than we imagined... check out the m2
- we could have managed the room.. but our bed was horrible... everything sunk to the middle. By comparison, we stayed at the YHA in Sydney Harbour two weeks prior and the bed was fantastic.
- We are retired (young)... and enjoy staying at lodgings everywhere from 5 stars to VRBO to this trip trying one hostel and this property. It was fun... as there were 4-5 bus loads of 20-somethings. We all had pizza at the pizza fest for $15.
- we were given two free drink tickets upon arrival; plus received two free drink tickets with our pizza purchase. (we chose wine... so a great deal).
- the staff is amazingly helpful and friendly
So, all in all... we got what we paid for, expect for the bed quality. The property has a wide variety of lodging types and prices... just check thoroughly to ensure you get what you want.

Room Tip: check the room type and size carefully.. they have a wide variety to chose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Never judge a book by its cover! This place actually exceeded our initial expectations. The rooms, depending on what you are looking for, were laid out nicely. The facility, while big and hosting quite a few people, comes off as just a cool spot to spend the one night or a couple. The staff were all nice and laid back It's located relatively close to everything in the town and has a good bar with pretty descent food. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was in New Zealand and on the west coast!

Room Tip: We tried to stay in a tree hut but none were available as they go quick! The park hotel was more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleston31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing