We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable pit stop”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable pit stop”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom chalets for one night in November. The facilities were excellent - all the cooking equipment we could ever need. The chalet was spacious and rooms were clean and well laid out. It was quite cold overnight, but heaters and electric blankets were provided.
This was the most expensive place we stayed in New Zealand, but there seemed to be a range of options to suit every budget at the Rainforest Retreat.
Internet was $4 per 24 hours, but didn't stretch as far as the chalets, unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    500
    220
    105
    53
See reviews for
242
677
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked the rainforest tree house with 2 bedrooms for the four of us.
Spacious, cozy, clean, fully equipped kitchen n laundry. private parking area. Less than 5 mins walk from Glacier hot pool. has in house hot pool though relatively smaller than the Glacier hot pools. accessible location from restaurant. Wifi connection was good.

Enjoyed the stay very much. Suitable for family, big grp of friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmaineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Front desk (service) 4/5
$ 5/5 (considering above)

Awesome location (in the heart of the rainforest). Very comfortable sleep.
Sometimes you could hear a bit of noise from the adjacent lodge. This wasn’t much of an issue though.
We didn’t try the in-house restaurant as it seemed a bit too crowded and noisy.
WiFi reception was extremely poor in lodge #23.

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge #23 which is right on the edge of the rainforest. The outdoor area actually faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuperpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very clean, a perfect location and each of the sites is in its own private rainforest oasis. We parked up about 6pm, walked across the road to the hot pools and then went for dinner at The Landing.we loved the atmosphere across franz Josef town.

Room Tip: Higher site numbers are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here at the start of November 2013. It was a last minute change of plan to be honest as we had originally planned to stay just outside of town, but when we came across the Rainforest Retreat we couldn't resist it.

The location is brilliant and is walking distance from everything. Unlike many camper van sites they have designed it very well so that camper vans and tree houses can live together in harmony without one ruining the ambience of the other! The facilities are all really good with wifi available and a good kitchen and shower block (in addition to a new block which is currently being built). You can also book kayaking from the site and there is also a spa available for use up until 8pm.

A really lovely little gem of a place with fantastic service and in a great location!

Room Tip: Try and check out the camper van sites first if possible as some are closer together than others. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Park, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This site has everything you could want and more. We stayed in a camper van and the site was comfortable and private. There is a good kitchen and laundry and the toilet shower block was clean and spacious. They are currently building a new one which will be excellent. There is a pub and restaurant on-site which has a lovely open fire. The site is professional but still has a very friendly family feel about it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Completely different experience from commercial hotels, the tree huts that we stayed in were extremely clean and bring you straight up close to nature!

Only a few minutes walk to everything, the money for the tree hut is definitely worth it!

Hoping to stay again and longer to enjoy the most of it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri_t_berri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing