We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain Forest Retreat”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The site had a big range of accommodation from camp plots to "tree houses" that were just houses in amongst trees (a bit of an misdescription for any kids thinking they would be up in the trees!)

The room was really spacious and comefotable. We had a double room.

The on site restuarant was cheerful, and did generally good food. It was however a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had two nights here which co-incided with New Years Eve so didn't expect to have the quietest time considering there is a bar onsite. However the first night we were in an ensuite flashpacker dorm which was situated right under 3 or 4 toilets above (which serviced many other dorms), this was as quite noisy and you lay there to hearing people doing their business, then flushing. This gave us a terrible sleep that night and the strange noises every few minutes scared our kids (this room should be a store room or something, not suitable for sleeping). After complaining to management and to their credit we were upgraded to a Motel style unit for our remaining night and reimbursed for the noisy night, this was a nice unit and much more suitable for a family. Also, the seafood basket we had at the restaurant/bar was overcooked so we returned it for a much nicer chowder which we had to takeaway as it was 1 hour past the kids bedtime when we finally got it. We don't usually complain much but it seemed we had to at this place to get something decent, perhaps too many backpackers/tour buses come through this place for a 1 nighter and have no chance to do so. The setting is beautiful and could be a really nice place for NZ families but its just not really geared up for it this time of year.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no toilets or showers above your room, perhaps go for an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couchman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here on new years eve for one night. The staff were friendly and the motel in located in a quieter part of the town with a great backdrop of the mountains.
The room we had however was not good. It was the cheapest ones. Firstly it was small with a noisy fridge at the bottom of the bed. Second it was dirty and worn out. The bathroom floor was fithy. My girlfriend used a white towel to mop up a splash of water she had spilt and it came up black. There was a piece of broken glass around the fridge are which had not been cleaned up from previous stays. The bed sheets and pillows appeared however to be fresh. The bathroom door was broken, the heat kept falling off the wall and the door lock jammed constantly.

Considering we spent the night at the Chateau backpackers place up the road the night before....we got a lot better for less.

On the plus side, for new years eve, the place has its own bar called the Monsoon Bar which threw a great new years eve party!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Recently stayed for 2 days on trip round the South Island. On check in my friend and I had a double room booked. We were directed to the Gekko cottages, a series of 5 cabins surrounded by rainforest. The room was comfortable and clean. Had its own private facilities. The site is truly amazing. There is a spa you can use (free!!)on site or another 5 mins walk away. At every turn there was mountain.views. Great restaurant served good food. All staff were friendly, even down to resident dog. Good prices too. Heli hikes are recommended as well as snow landings. Booked to go but weather wasn't good enough. Health and safety grounded us as well as wind and cloud. Early morning apparently is the best chance of that happening.

Room Tip: As a couple try to get a Gekko cabin. So snug and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Amazing, truly beautiful area, really reminded me of Chamonix in France with its beautiful green rolling rainforest mountains surrounding the town, every angle you looks its breath taking.

It was quiet wet when I was there so I was unable to get a heli hike as it was too dangerous, but I did walk to the front of the glacier, it was a beautiful site but as the glacier has receded back so far it is hard to get a really good view. I would recommend getting the heli hike to get the full experience.

I stayed in the Rainforest Retreat in the backpackers. Great location, really central, lovely staff.
I had great chats with the the wonderful man who cleaned the kitchen each morning when I went for my breakfast, he was Maori and so passionate and informative about his culture.

Amazing accommodation, beds were real comfy and only $27 a night to stay Also there was a good lively bar in the camp ground with friendly staff and games. I also ran into the Franz Josef Guides, such amazing people, so friendly and passionate about their jobs. Loved my stay here.

Also went to the ho pools, which are only a five minute walk from the Rainforest Retreat.

I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great venue and experience. We had a few hickups with checking in - reception giving us wrong directions and only 1 set of keys (we had booked the 4 bedroom tree House (which has 3 seperate keys) but we eventually sorted that out. It ahs everything you need for big groups and canm sleep 12 people .There is also a washing machine, dryer and ample heaters.
It is a great place to stay with a great PUB.

Room Tip: I would only book the Treee House if you are traveling in large groups. It is too expensive for a fa...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I literally stayed in a 4 bed (bunk beds) garden shed next to the average accomodation. Rained whilst there and so trying to dry coat out resulted in humid mouldy room. Also, freezing in there at night so had to request for a heater as there wasn't one! They made a fortune out of 4 people paying to sleep in a shed in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angharad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £22 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing