We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punga Grove Motel & Suites(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
570
546
244
117
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
546
244
117
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgemonsoon restaurantthe kitchenall you can eatpizza nightkiwi experienceprivate sparestaurant barhot tublog cabincamper vanpowered siteon site restaurantnew zealandbed dormholiday parkgreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
889 - 894 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This has been built only a month ago. A huge house with lots and lots of room. We could not believe how much room this house had. The kitchen had lots of cutlery making it a great place for a large family. This is hidden at the back among the camp sites and is worth paying extra for. This is well worth the stay. The courtyard has a view of a mini forest. highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kaweraukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Very pretty location, we had a lot that easily fit 5 adults (3 seperate rooms with a kitchen and laundry) at a reasonable price. Only 20minutes from the Fox Glacier and at the Franz Josef glacier so the location is brilliant.

Rooms were modern with great TVs, bathrooms and plenty of cupboard space for longer stays. Staff were friendly and the on site restaurant made a mean lamb shank.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hugh_Sake00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The site had a big range of accommodation from camp plots to "tree houses" that were just houses in amongst trees (a bit of an misdescription for any kids thinking they would be up in the trees!)

The room was really spacious and comefotable. We had a double room.

The on site restuarant was cheerful, and did generally good food. It was however a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had two nights here which co-incided with New Years Eve so didn't expect to have the quietest time considering there is a bar onsite. However the first night we were in an ensuite flashpacker dorm which was situated right under 3 or 4 toilets above (which serviced many other dorms), this was as quite noisy and you lay there to hearing people doing their business, then flushing. This gave us a terrible sleep that night and the strange noises every few minutes scared our kids (this room should be a store room or something, not suitable for sleeping). After complaining to management and to their credit we were upgraded to a Motel style unit for our remaining night and reimbursed for the noisy night, this was a nice unit and much more suitable for a family. Also, the seafood basket we had at the restaurant/bar was overcooked so we returned it for a much nicer chowder which we had to takeaway as it was 1 hour past the kids bedtime when we finally got it. We don't usually complain much but it seemed we had to at this place to get something decent, perhaps too many backpackers/tour buses come through this place for a 1 nighter and have no chance to do so. The setting is beautiful and could be a really nice place for NZ families but its just not really geared up for it this time of year.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no toilets or showers above your room, perhaps go for an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couchman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here on new years eve for one night. The staff were friendly and the motel in located in a quieter part of the town with a great backdrop of the mountains.
The room we had however was not good. It was the cheapest ones. Firstly it was small with a noisy fridge at the bottom of the bed. Second it was dirty and worn out. The bathroom floor was fithy. My girlfriend used a white towel to mop up a splash of water she had spilt and it came up black. There was a piece of broken glass around the fridge are which had not been cleaned up from previous stays. The bed sheets and pillows appeared however to be fresh. The bathroom door was broken, the heat kept falling off the wall and the door lock jammed constantly.

Considering we spent the night at the Chateau backpackers place up the road the night before....we got a lot better for less.

On the plus side, for new years eve, the place has its own bar called the Monsoon Bar which threw a great new years eve party!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews