We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveller rating
583
550
247
117
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
550
247
117
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgemonsoon restaurantthe kitchenall you can eatpizza nightkiwi experienceprivate sparestaurant barhot tublog cabincamper vanpowered siteon site restaurantnew zealandbed dormholiday parkgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were looking for a campground with peace and private life and found it at Rainforest Retreat. We had a big camper van but found a site for it were we also could have some private life because of the trees and vegetation between the sites. It is possible to find sun and shadow at most of the sites. The toilet and bath facility could be better. Wifi are availably and the staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the ground serve god food. Only about 8 km to Franz Josef glacier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in one of the tree lodges for our honeymoon. Firstly the staff were more than helpful and very friendly. Upon entering our room we found a bottle of champagne from all the staff which was a nice surprise and the room was beautiful. Being surrounded by the forest was very relaxing. We ate every night at the Monsoon Restaurant/Bar and the service and especially the food were GREAT!! We would recommend this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay here. Checking in was a breeze by staffs that were efficient, friendly and accommodating. We got the tree lodge room which was a quick 30meter or so drive from the reception office. There were plenty of free parking available. This is a rural area so no need to fight for parking anywhere in franz Josef. We thought the room was clean, spacious, quiet and had a full kitchen. Our only issue was the phone not working properly when calling an outside line. It was a simple fix as you can have the reception desk call out for you, that way you also save by not getting charged even to call locally within franz Josef. We did not eat at the monsoon restaurant or used any of the amenities on the property as we were too comfortable in our room. We would definite come back to the rainforest retreat if given a chance to visit franz Josef in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vinh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

One of the most expensive stays that we've had, but we didn't feel that we got value for money. The room was small and badly laid out, particularly for 3 adults, which you have to pay extra for. The room was tatty and in need of maintenance, and several items were missing from the room, which the staff seemed unaware of. The room was not serviced during our stay and we had to request more tea and coffee. Spa pool was also dirty and broken.

Room Tip: Suggest you choose different accommodation.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a powered camper van site. It was beautifully landscaped and graveled with a picnic table. There was lots of privacy from the other campers. I have to say this was the best site we stayed at in the week we were out campervaning.
The location was great… in the rainforest…and easy to walk the few blocks into town. It was pouring when we arrived…we simply ate in the pub right there at the retreat. It was fine..not great, but good.
The bathrooms were somewhat limited. They are building more showers and baths which are sorely needed. But they were clean and there was a lot of hot water.
OH, the staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews