We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away From Home!!!”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in a tree hut. A nice private experience. Great food in the restaurant/bar, great hospitality, funny antics and good times in the Monsoon Bar (as always), and a perfect weekend away. Kelly and Oscar are great hosts and I would recommend this place anytime. Will be back to stay again soon for sure. Much thanks guys.

Room Tip: the tree huts/logdes are a nice private escape from the business of the township and hostels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Tracey
It was great to see you again. Sorry I didn't get time to have a drink with you. Next time!
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a rather lively bar scene due to the fact that Kiwi Ex/Stray/Contiki tour buses come here, but I would skip it personally. It's pricier than other hostels down the street at $28/night with no free wifi. The rooms, facilities, and even service are mediocre. It's not bad for a short stay but it isn't anything special and I would recommend you to stay at another hostel in Franz Josef if you can (all the hostels are on one street).

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were staying here for one night on the way to Queenstown. Timing was bad due the cyclone Ita and this town was affected too. There was no power in most of the hotels and this was one of them.

Good Points
- friendly staff who gave us the option of not staying due to no electricity
- clean rooms
- perfect location (5 min walk to city and surrounded by trees and mountains)
- big communual kitchen equipped with everything)

Bad Points
- should have had a generator

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Nuwan
Wow, what a weekend that was. The biggest storm we have ever encountered. Thank you for your patients during your stay. I hope you can make it back here again so you can see how awesome its supposed to look without all the storm damage.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

was staying here in a cabin when the tail end of a cyclone hit the west coast, until the power went down we had a great comfy room with all the trimmings, but then the towns power went down! not for an hour, but days i'm led to believe! There was no generator,which i found odd as other hotels did, but we saw the receptionists and they were positive and upbeat even though reception was full of people moaning, and they sent us to the onsite bar and restaurant (see seperate review). Regardless the bed was still great, and the facilities including the free hot tub awesome, will stay here again for sure if i come back to NZ. Its a small town so everything is within a 5minute walk, but this place has a remote feel like your miles away, not minutes. Loved it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for your understanding during the cyclone. Its great to hear it didn't spoil your stay. I hope you can get back here during better weather one day.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent staff, location and everything you need, good food drinks .... only let down backpackers loud at 2.00am above your room and a rude bus driver that brought the backpackers ....
Other than the messy backpackers this is a very special place and the staff were awesome = thank you..oh plus the beds are excellent as well

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Great11131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Great11131
Thank you for staying with us and your lovely review. I will pass on your feedback to the staff who I know will be frilled with your comments. I have had a friendly chat with the not so friendly bus driver and her company.
I hope we see you again soon,
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a tree house which had a cute, windowed nook for eating, a large bathroom, and great location among the trees. There were tons of options from hostel to boutique accommodation on the grounds. We enjoyed the restaurant there as we found the best drinks in town one night!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Janet
What a brilliant review. Thank you.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here when I was with the kiwi experience and we got the log cabin next to the hot tub. It was brilliant, huge room with ensuite and hot tub was fantastic. The restaurant is lovely as well, I reccomend the beef nachos!! In would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Tippe
Thank you for staying and the awesome review. I hope you can get back to us one day.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
729 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £38 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing