We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Retreat”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great staff, great food, great room! The staff were very helpful with lots of last minute changes and when I got there they upgraded us for free as I had stayed there a few times before. The pizza was fantastic and we had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 811one_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi OneLove
Thank you for the great review. We do pride ourselves on offering great service and again I will pass your praise on to our staff. I agree with you also about the tasty pizza, I too love them which really isn't helping the waistline!
I hope you had a great trip home
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    501
    220
    105
    53
See reviews for
243
677
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

At first rainforest retreat seems like a very pleasant and welcoming place to stay, with nice looking chalets, a pub/restaurant on site and a hot tub.. All these things are brilliant, but it comes at quite a price. Terrible service from most staff, with arrogant and sarcastic remarks being their first language. On immediate arrival what appeared to be the owner seemed like a lovely man, with nothing but a helping hand. That is until you need help.. When going to reception to ask for an extra heater as the room was quite large and freezing, the female was more than happy to help.. The manager however with a disgusted look on his face said that we should be patient and allow the one small fan heater the size of a loaf of bread to heat the entire room. Luckily the woman gave us one anyway! Being shouted at for asking how much a glass of wine was, and ridiculed for not knowing the house specials (how dare I) meant that the large group of us cut our night short. Over hearing the bald bearded bar tender calling one of the customers a stupid bit@h was one of the more pleasant comments from my two night stay.. I would never return to this place which is a massive shame as the facilities aren't too bad. We may be backpackers, but we are the ones who fill the beds and pay our way just like everyone else! Unbelievably disappointed!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Hlou30
Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Rainforest Backpackers. I am aware you were here with the same group and room as Mark J who's review below i have already replied to. As i've said before I am naturally shocked to read your comments, my team and I are very customer serviced focused and aim to exceed customer expectations, I hope the warm welcome I gave you reflected this.
I sincerely apologize if my look offended you whilst our receptionist was fetching you another heater. I have spoken to james our bar manager who I am convinced would never insult a guest. As we already know some of your group had turned on the staff and I can only assume that you may well have overheard a private conversation and for this i am sorry. I have welcomed 10'000's of guest each year and unfortunately found your group to be one of the rudest and difficult I can remember. All of our staff aim to offer fantastic customer service but when we are being treated disrespectfully it is sometimes very hard to keep that smile up. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations and I hope the rest of your trip was a little more enjoyable.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a unique place to stay. It offers everything from low budget campervan sites and motel rooms to modern houses. We chose the tree lodge which was upstairs so it looked out into the midst of the surrounding trees, each unit is private because everything is set amongst the trees. We stayed in winter when there were plenty of special deals so cost was very reasonable. It was clean, warm and comfortable and just loved our little bush walk to our unit, especially at night with the lights in the bush. The staff were all very nice and we were thrilled we were able to take our little dog. It is conveniently located within a couple of minutes walk to shops restaurants and cafes, the hot pools over the road and kiwi centre nearby. It also provides a restaurant and bar which we appreciated and I think sauna and spa which we did not use. I can see it would be very popular in summer, we appreciated the peace and tranquility during the coldest month of the year.

Room Tip: Our tree lodge was in the thick of the bush away from the driveway and motels and camping areas whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, Front Office Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Claire
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you and your little dog. I'm glad you all had a great time in our tree lodge and I hope we will see you back here again before too long.
I hope you had a good trip home to queenstown.
Regards
Becky Percy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and a friend stayed here while on the Kiwi Experience. It had great facilities ie. kitchen, bar, restaurant, hot tub. But was pretty expensive for travellers. They were strict on having your own alcohol on the premisses, which meant we had to drink at the bar which was expensive being a traveller. We were only here for a night but I think if we weren't doing the kiwi experience then we wouldn't have stayed here. Also dorm rooms were average, probably not worth what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Geepea
Thank you for staying with us at the Rainforest Backpacker, I am pleased you found it a very nice place to stay. I feel $28 for a dorm bed with the superior bedding and facilities we have to offer represents good value. I hope the rest of your kiwi trip was a great time.
Cheers
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I ended up at this hostel because it's where the Kiwi bus goes, but I imagine the other hostels in the town might be better. For the most part, this one is fine- good location, fun bar with competitions and prizes (and all you can eat pizza nights), and a big kitchen. However, my main complaint was that I freezing all the time! The rooms managed to hold heat ok, but the hallways were so cold always, and this was only just going into winter. The door to the outside was usually open, and I dreaded having to leave the room to use the bathroom because of the cold. Also, I just don't really like hostels where you have to go outside to get to the other facilities (kitchen, laundry, etc.) when it's in a location with a chillier climate. Also, no alcohol of your own, and they DO check the rooms and do multiple sweeps at night.

My positive comments though are that the reception staff was super friendly and helpful, and there is an adorable and very cuddly cat on the premises who will happily curl up on the couch with you for ages. :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Maria
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us at the Rainforest Backpackers. Firstly thank you for your fantastic and positive comments about our staff. I have passed your praise on to them. I have noted your comments about the hallway being cold. I have already instructed our builder to ensure the doors can't be left open to keep the warmth in and I have purchased some additional heaters for the corridor.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Kitchen was great, plenty of room! We were in dorms which were fine. The shared showers for this weren't hot though which was a shame. The staff are lovely. I think the managers name is George and he is awesome. The Pizza night is good fun and you can iterally have as much as you like. Love the bar set up and the big fires, so cosey especially seen as it did rain the whole time we were there. Hot tub was good, could have been a bit warmer though. Lovely hostel. Would return if i was coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Kimberley
Thank you for reviewing your stay a the Rainforest Backpackers. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the monsoon restaurant. I have passed your praise on to our staff who were delighted to have such great feedback.
Kind regards
Oscar (not George) ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in one of the private cabins here in March and were more than impressed with our stay. The facilities were spotless and it was all very modern and new, the location is beautiful and a really convenient spot in the centre of town with only a few minutes walking to all of the bars and shops. The staff were also very attentive and helpful during our stay, they ensured we had everything we needed and also recommended some lovely local walks. I would advise any family or friends to stay here as we enjoyed ourselves so much here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlygreggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Carlygreggs
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rainforest Retreat and for your lovely review. I am very pleased that you found our staff so helpful and our facilities so good. Thank you for recommending us to others. I hope we will see you back here again one day,
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing