We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gecko house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gecko house”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed two nights in the Gecko house. Fantastic house, large, clean, tidy, well appointed. Had two good quality take away meals from monsoon bar. Had the most warmest of welcomes from the receptionist (sorry can't recall your name but was of German descent ), in saying that all the staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    492
    218
    105
    53
See reviews for
237
665
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great location within Franz Joseph village, our Tree Lodge was tucked in among the forest.
Room was spacious, clean, with a good king sized bed. Restaurant and bar onsite was good, generous servings. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend as has accommodation catering for a range of travelers - lodge, motel, camper-vans, backpackers.

Room Tip: If staying in winter choose a sunny room or camper van site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very clean and comfortable rooms and beds. Great location within Franz Josef. The restaurant is excellent! Great place to watch the World Cup! It was quite busy with three or four tour groups arriving and leaving at the same time but there was no issue with noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Heather
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased you had a great time with us and found our restaurant so enjoyable. I hope you can make it back to us again one day.
Happy travels
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the tiny town of the Franz Joseph Glacier.

The staff were very welcoming and did their best to help us out with any queries we had.

The kitchen was well equipped, if not a little cold, and relatively clean.

The hostel attracts a lot of tour buses so is often full with touring youngsters. This means the Rainforest bar is quite lively with a young crowd. Ideal if this is your scene but you may wish to venture to one of the other bars if not.

The hostel has a large hot tub attached; ideal for an evening relax however the water was bordering on too hot and was quite murky.

Overall I would recommend staying at The Rainforest Retreat and would definitely stay there again myself if I am ever fortunate enough to visit again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Worldonmybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Worldonmybak
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, that the staff looked after you so well and you enjoyed our facilities. We set our hot tub to 38 degrees, sorry if you felt this a little too hot for you. I hope you make it back to us again soon.
Happy travels
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Franz Josef. Booked double rooms but all got free upgrades to little tree cabins which were lovely. Comfy bed, handy kitchenette facilities, the whole site is outstandingly beautiful, and well located. Great restaurant on sight too, log cabin & open fires, lovely. The 4 or 5 little tree cabins had their own outdoor hot tub too which we made use of! Really friendly staff. Bathroom was small & there was nowhere to dry towels but other than that we loved it.

Room Tip: Go for a tree lodge or tree house, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abishap35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Abishap35
Many thanks for staying with us and for a great review. I believe you stayed in our gecko cottages, i too love there location and private hot tub, it is a very pretty area. I agree the bathrooms are small in the gecko cottages, there are hooks on the bathroom doors for the towels but i will look into other alternatives too.
I hope you can make it back to us again one day.
Happy travels
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We parked our camper here for the night. Very pleasant. Your camper is surrounded by native bush. Very peaceful with just the sounds of birds..., that is until 9 when the cleaners come round in the van driving like lunatics!
Just about got bowled over by their van going full tit on the gravel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarcusGoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

From the moment we arrived and were upgraded to a Tree house to when we left, we experienced a first class service throughout the hotel. The bar manager and the restaurant staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food we had was really good value for money. In terms of location, standard of cleanliness and quality of room facilities, we would thoroughly recommend this this venue

Room Tip: Tree huts have everything for self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Paul
Thank you for such a nice review. I have passed on your praise to our staff who were naturally delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
I hope you can make it back to us again one day.
Happy Travels
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing