We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
58 On Cron Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
270
197
36
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
197
36
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfree wififranz josephalice mayslady at receptiongood sizebedroom apartmentwalking distancesky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staystayed for two nightssouth island
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great Staff. Very helpful in arranging glacier hike. Very clean. Loved our stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at this property for three nights earlier this month and found the experience quite nice. Checkin was quick and easy, and Anne was there waiting for us even though we came in at a sunny 8.30 p.m. The room looked new and was quite well appointed, has a sofa, a nice bed, TV, kitchen utensils and a bathroom. There are kitchen utensils and there is a quick and easy to use laundry facility, I did use that. The motel is just a walking distance from the town center, main activities etc. There's an Indian restaurant (Priya) and a hot pool near by. The only incident that happened when we were there at 58 on Cron was the whole town ran out of water and Ann was kind enough to give us a bottle of water while the repairs were going on. There's enough parking space inside as well. Overall a very good experience....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hats off to Anne and Richard who went beyond the call of duty. I had a problem with my motorcycle and Richard helped me with parts and tools to get me back on the road. Superb!
The rooms themselves were clean, modern and spacious. Great location close to town and restaurants etc. Right across the road from the hot springs is a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place is as good as they all a=say but we spent 2 nights over new year here with another family. The place was lovely and clean and the management was terrific and more than helpful and friendly.


Our complaint is that there are no fly screens on the windows. At night our rooms filled with mosquitos I killed 30 before bed and then had to wipe the blood marks off the wall. When I mentioned it in the morning I was told they don't usually have this sort of problem but it was a bad night in the area. Even so it is highlighted on the map of NZ that it is in a bad area for mossies. Even if there were no mosquitoes, no screen still allow bugs to get in. As there is no need for air con in the area, but as the nights do get warm at this time of year (29oC) you do need to open the windows to get some air.

If screens on the windows don't worry you then this is a terrific stop on a trip around the south island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef.Yes we agree it was a bad night for mossies when you stayed with us and as I mentioned we hadn't had them that bad since we have been here over 3years.
We wish to advise we have taken into account your comments and have ordered and hopefully will be fitted in the next couple of weeks screens for some of the windows in all the units so they can be left open.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind Regards
Anne & Richard Tunnah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We only stayed at 58 On Cron for one night but really enjoyed our stay. The room was really clean and comfortable, and the DVDs you could borrow were a nice addition. The managers/owners were lovely and provided lots of advice when were had questions. The hotel is a short walk from restaurants and the attractions and right across the road from the mineral spa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews