We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and lovely service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We drove from Picton to Franz Josef and arrived after 9pm, exhausted after the long drive. When we arrived, we found a friendly note on the door indicating that our room was all set up. Ann had even turned on the heater for us! We weren't expecting much for the rate we paid and we were pleasantly surprised with the new facilities and liked the room so much that we stayed an extra night. The location is great - right across the road from the hot mineral baths (amazing!) and the wildlife centre which is also very cool (check out the Rowi kiwis). Among the many pluses, we also received some free Internet and borrowed a couple of DVD's to watch after a long day of walking! Really great place and lovely owners - just book it! Thanks Ann for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartcleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    174
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
111
258
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, great value accommodation in quiet location within easy walking distance to Franz Josef main street and restaurants.
If planning on using the hot pools opposite you can't take the hotel towels, it is a paid attraction approx 23 dollars, not geothermal, but nicely laid out.
Smaller hotel complex with parking outside room. Floor to ceiling window with sliding door entrance to room was the only thing we didn't like as it opened to the carpark common area so there was no privacy if you had the curtain open.
Good water pressure, small bathroom but everything you need. Shower head a bit average, possibly calcified, uneven spray.
Good tea and coffee facilities.
Fresh milk supplied on second night by request.
No free WiFi, available for purchase.
Good heating, needed after glacier :)
Friendly staff.
Voucher provided for free drink at local restaurant Alice may, good food but small serve.
Would happily stay again, winner on value.
Stayed based on trip advisor reviews and happy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently stayed for one night in Franz Josef, after exploring Fox Glacier. We travelled during July 2013 and found it very warm and inviting. Although really only in the room to sleep and have breakfast we found that it catered well for our family of 5 and we were very pleased with our choice. The staff (lady) was also very friendly and helpful. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the very back room, I am not sure if this made a difference but it was certainly quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for two nights. Very comfortable, handy location, loved the shower.
The level of service is excellent. There is not a lot to do in Franz at night and it was good to have the DVDs. Overall have to rate this 10/10 for value and experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting the glacier region in July 2013. We found a comfortable, modern room, with the right amount of facilities for our stay. The TV and DVD we're much appreciated to watch during the rains.

One small recommendation would be to provide more heating in the winter - whilst not cold, did have problems in getting enough heat into the rooms to dry our wet clothes after the glacier walk.

That said, would boom this motel again if we are visiting the region.

Also highly recommend the restaurant just down the road - Annie May's and the Franz Josef guides who were very amusing.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night in mid June to do heli tour.

Pro: very clean, convenient location

Con: Poor quality of sleep due to extremely noisy heater unit which kept waking me up throughout the night and defeats the purpose of the motel. Kitchenette unit provided but signage says charges applies if you cook smelly food including seafood, garlic and onion.

Overall, decent motel is designed for a heavy sleeper with only eats cold sandwich.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintie_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Mintie17,
Thank you for your review of our property.We were sorry to hear your sleep was disrupted by our heater in your room.These heaters are thermostatically controlled and will adjust frequently due to what temperature they are set at by the guest.
We have only put a sign in our rooms for cooking for fairness to others checking in.The foods mentioned can leave a lingering smell and we have to clean the rooms in a short period for the next guests checking in.
We only charge if the room has to be taken out of service due to lingering food smells and we can not sell the room because of it.
We certainly do not expect people to only eat cold food.
We hope you enjoyed your heli tour and the rest of your trip on the west Coast.
Kind regards
Anne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I am just back from staying 2 nights at 58 on Cron Motel. I booked it based off the reviews on Tripadvisor and it was even better than what I expected. This property is pretty new so everything is modern and in perfect condition. The rooms are large and there is even a kitchenette to cook and prepare meals if you want to.

The owners are very friendly and it was perhaps the best hotel service I had in NZ. They gave me a complete run down on Franz Josef when I arrived and told me all my options. They have DVD's at reception that you can borrow to watch as all rooms have DVD's

Great location - 3 min walk to all the restaurants and bars. The hot pools are across the road too.

Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenaeG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing